Trinidad and Tobago Development Women prevails over Americas
by CricketArchive Satff Reporter

Ground:Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Artificial Ground, Lauderhill
Scorecard:Americas Women v Trinidad and Tobago Development Women
Player:DJ Singh, R Bissoon, TL Paynter
Event:Women's Americas Championship 2009

DateLine: 28th May 2009


The showpiece finale of the 2nd Americas Women’s Championship was hampered but not halted by torrential rain and lightning warnings, resulting in a 29 run D/L method win for the talented young Trinidad & Tobago Development XI over the representative Americas XI. Originally scheduled for Brian Picollo Park, which was inundated by heavy rain early in the day, the fixture was moved to the Central Broward Regional Park, and reduced from a 40 over contest to a 25 over match.


Electing to bat, the T&T combination got off to a bright start, openers Devika Singh (34 off 48 balls, 2 fours) and Rackeal Bisoon (27 off 52 balls) adding 62 in 13 overs for the first wicket. However the Americas XI fought back, taking 6 wickets for 5 runs at one stage, and eventually restricting their opposition to 109 for 9 in 23,2 overs before a lightning warning brought the innings to a premature close. Young Argentina off-spinner Sofia Retamales starred with the ball, taking 2 for 14 in 4 overs, and also completing two run outs. Joanna White also bowled well, taking 2 for 8 in 2 overs.


In what can only be described as a nightmare start, the Americas XI lost two wickets to run outs off the first two balls of their reply, both batters out without facing a ball. It was a start from which the team never ultimately recovered, only Bermudan Terry Lynn Paynter offered any real resistance with an innings of 20, off 23 balls with 1 four. Having been set a revised target of 79 to win in 15 overs after weather interruptions, the Americas XI could only manage 50 for the loss of 6 wickets in 15 overs, and thus victory to the T&T XI, for whom Sarona Samaroo was the best bowler with 2 for 4 in 2 overs.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive