Sri Lanka get better of India to take home title
by Jinu Sabastian

Ground:Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Scorecard:India v Sri Lanka
Player:SK Raina, DPMD Jayawardene
Event:Idea Cup 2009/10

DateLine: 13th January 2010


Sri Lanka defeated India by four wickets to win the Tri-series final. India scored a modest score of 245 in 48.5 while being all out while Sri Lanka in reply scored 249 for the loss of six wickets in 48.3 overs.


Sangakkara won the toss and elected to field first. The Lankan pacers wreaked the Indian batting line-up as at one stage the Indian score read a pathetic 60 for 5 in 10.4 overs. Suresh Raina (106, 115 balls, 10x4, 1x6) and Ravindra Jadeja (38, 64 balls) put on 106 in 23.4 overs to resurrect the innings before India lost their way to be all out for 245 in 48.5 overs.


Sri Lanka in reply got of to a horrendous start when Tharanga was caught at slips of Nehra in the very first over for a duck. But the Dilshan (49, 54 balls, 8x4) and Sangakkara (55, 51 balls, 8x4) gave some momentum to the innings before the Indian spinner rocked the boat with some quick wickets. Jayawardene (71 not out, 81 balls, 5x4) kept a cool head as wickets tumbled around him to lead his side to a comfortable win over India


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive