Australia, England and New Zealand to contest T20 Tri-Series
by New Zealand Cricket

Event:International Trans-Tasman T20 Tr-Series 2017/18

DateLine: 12th December 2016


New Zealand and Australia will host England in a Twenty20 Tri-series in 2017/18.


To be staged at the completion of the Ashes, each side will play each other twice in the round-robin stage, before the final is played at Eden Park on 21 February.


New Zealand will host three round-robin matches, facing England at Westpac Stadium and Seddon Park, and Australia at Eden Park.


Australia will also host three round-robin matches; one of them against New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground.


The Tri-series will take the place of the Chappell-Hadlee series, with the trans-Tasman trophy to go back on the line the following season.


New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White said the Tri Series initiative was a late addition to next summer’s programme and too good an opportunity to pass up.


“To host matches against both England and Australia is an exciting development for New Zealand cricket fans,” said Mr White.


There is a lot of history – and a healthy rivalry between the three sides, and we expect the series to be well supported.”


However, Mr White said the future of the Chappell-Hadlee Series remains secure.


“The Chappell Hadlee Series will resume in 2018-19 in New Zealand; will take a break in 2019-20 as scheduled, will return the following summer when New Zealand tours Australia, and in 2021-22 when Australia visits New Zealand.”


(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2016 New Zealand Cricket)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive