ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017 schedule announced
by International Cricket Council

Event:ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2016/17

DateLine: 19th December 2016


With 50 days to go for the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017, the ICC has announced the event schedule which brings together 10 sides in their quest to claim four remaining places in the event proper.


The tournament will run from 7-21 February at four Colombo venues and the sides finishing in the top four of the Super Six stage will join defending champion Australia, host England, former winner New Zealand and reigning ICC World Twenty20 champion West Indies in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 from 26 June to 23 July.


Asian champions and former World Cup finalists India leads Group A which also includes Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand, while South Africa heads Group B which comprises Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea (PNG).


Each side will play four matches in the first round, following which the top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, while also carrying forward points they earn against sides which have progressed to the Super Six stage from their group.


The top four sides from the Super Six stage, in which each side will play three matches against teams from the other group, will complete the eight-team line-up for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, while the top two sides will battle out for the title in the 21 February final.


Holly Colvin, ICC’s Women’s Cricket Officer and a World Cup winner with England in 2009, said: “This is an extremely important event on the women’s cricket calendar as it offers a final opportunity to the sides to qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup, which is the ultimate event for any cricketer.


“The top four sides from the Super Six stage will not only qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, but they will also secure places in the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship. There is incentive for the remaining two sides from the Super Six stage, which will secure ODI status for the next four years. As such, there is plenty to play for in Colombo.


“The ICC World Twenty20 in India and the ICC Women’s Championship have shown that the gap between the top-ranked sides is narrowing. The ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier will create more opportunities for women’s cricketers to compete at the highest level and at the same time prepare for a high profile event like the ICC Women’s World Cup.”


(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2016 International Cricket Council)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive