West Indies win toss, elect to field in tri-series match
by AFP

Ground:Western Australia Cricket Association Ground, Perth
Scorecard:Pakistan v West Indies
Player:BC Lara
Event:VB Series 2004/05

DateLine: 1st February 2005


The West Indies won the toss and elected to field in the tri-series limited overs match against Pakistan at the Western Australian Cricket Association Ground here.


The West Indies stuck with the same team which scored a convincing win over Pakistan in Adelaide on Friday, despite niggling injuries to several players.


Captain Brian Lara, himself with a wrist injury, said the players all knew the importance of the game and were prepared to "bite the bullet".


The match, the final qualifier in the series, is a do-or-die affair for both teams with the winner going on to play Australia in the best-of-three finals.


Lara said he believed the wicket had some moisture and the ball would swing later in the day.


"We have got some swing bowlers and hopefully we can put Pakistan under some pressure," he said.


For Pakistan, batsman Younis Khan, who had to fly home following the death of his father, has been replaced by Kamran Akmal.


Other than that they retained the same team which beat Australia in Perth by three wickets on Sunday.


West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ricardo Powell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Dwayne Bravo, Courtney Browne, Ian Bradshaw, Pedro Collins, Reon King, Xavier Marshall (12th man).


Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Kamran Akmal, Yousuf Youhana, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Mohammad Khalil, Mohammad Hafeez (12th man).


Umpires: Rudi Koertzen (RSA), Steve Davis (AUS).

(Article: Copyright © 2005 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive