CricketArchive

Inzamam's run-out dismissal unlawful, says Pakistan
by AFP


Ground:Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
Scorecard:Pakistan v England
Player:Inzamam-ul-Haq
Event:England in Pakistan 2005/06

DateLine: 22nd November 2005

 

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said Tuesday it had conveyed its concerns to the International Cricket Council (ICC) over Inzamam-ul-Haq's dismissal in the current second Test against England.

 

"We have conveyed our concerns to the ICC regarding the apparently unlawful dismissal of Inzamam on the second day of the second Test against England at Faisalabad," the PCB said in a statement.

 

The Pakistan captain was adjudged run out by third umpire Nadeem Ghouri of Pakistan on Monday after he scored a magnificent 109.

 

England paceman Steve Harmison threw down the stumps at the striker's end after the batsman played a drive and stepped out of his crease.

 

Television replays showed Inzamam's back foot was in the air as he took evasive action to avoid the ball.

 

"The relevant Law No. 38 (2) states: a batsman is not run out if (a) he has been within his ground and has subsequently left it to avoid injury, when the wicket is put down," the statement said.

 

"It is evident that Inzamam took evasive action to avoid injury and according to the laws should not have been given out."

 

The PCB said Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer raised the issue with match referee Roshan Mahanama of Sri Lanka.

 

"This issue was brought to the match referees attention in writing by Woolmer and by PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan in a telephonic conversation with ICC president Ehsan Mani immediately after the incident," the statement added.

 

Inzamam has described the incident as "surprising," saying he tried to save himself from the throw.

 

"I never challenge an umpire's decision but I was definitely trying to save myself," he said.

 

In another incident on Monday involving Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi, the PCB said it would hold an independent inquiry.

 

The ICC banned Afridi for one Test and two one-day internationals for damaging the pitch.

 

"As regard to Afridis scuffing of the pitch for which he has apologised and for which he has been penalised by the match referee, the PCB will hold its own independent inquiry after the second Test," the statement said.

(Article: Copyright © 2005 AFP)



LATEST SCORES

CURRENT EVENTS

View all Current Events CLICK HERE






We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive