Harmison and Jones to continue against Pakistan
by AFP

Ground:Old Trafford, Manchester
Scorecard:England v Pakistan
Player:SJ Harmison, GO Jones
Event:Pakistan in British Isles 2006

DateLine: 29th July 2006


Stephen Harmison and Geraint Jones were both set to start the third day of the second Test against Pakistan at Old Trafford here Saturday.


Fast bowler Harmison, who took six for 19 in Pakistan's meagre first innings 119 on the opening day, left the field after bowling one over shortly before Friday's close with what appeared to be a side strain.


However, England said their strike bowler was fit to play after responding well to treatment.


But wicket-keeper Jones was revealed to have suffered a fracture in the tip of his right ring finger having been hit twice during his brief innings of eight on Friday, when it was initially thought he'd sustained just bruising.


Nevertheless, England said the Kent gloveman, on the field for the four overs possible in Pakistan's second innings Friday, would keep wicket Saturday.


England, looking to go 1-0 up in the four-match series after the drawn opener at Lord's, were in a strong position in this match.


Overnight they had a lead of 330, with Pakistan 12 without loss in reply to England's first innings 461 for nine declared which featured hundreds from Alastair Cook (127) and Ian Bell (106 not out).


England have been beset by injuries this season with Ashes-winning captain Michael Vaughan (knee) already ruled out of the tour of Australia later this year and star all-rounder Andrew Flintoff, absent at Lord's as well, sidelined for at least the rest of the English season.


Meanwhile fast bowler Simon Jones (knee), left-arm spinner Ashley Giles (hip) and reserve quick James Anderson (back) are also on England's long-term injury list.


But Pakistan have had their fair share of injury problems too with three frontline fast bowlers - Shoaib Akhtar (ankle), Mohammad Asif (elbow) and Naved-ul-Hasan (groin) all missing the first two matches of this series.

(Article: Copyright © 2006 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive