Vengsarkar likely to be named chief selector
by Cricketarchive Staff

Player:DB Vengsarkar, SLV Raju

DateLine: 22nd September 2006


Former Test captain Dilip Vengsarkar is expected to take over as India’s chief selector when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) holds its annual meeting next week.


Vengsarkar emerged the strongest candidate to replace Kiran More, who has completed four years in the job and is not eligible for re-nomination at the annual meeting in Mumbai on September 27 and 28.


The selection committee comprises one elected representative from each of the five zones demarcated by the BCCI and the senior most person is elected the chairman.


The Mumbai-based Vengsarkar, 50, will be nominated by the West Zone in place of More, whose last year as chairman was marked by the controversial sacking of captain Sourav Ganguly.


Vengsarkar, who retired in 1992 after a 16-year career, played 116 Tests and scored 6,868 runs with 17 centuries.


Former left-arm spinner Venkatapathy Raju is set to replace V.B. Chandrasekhar as the selector from South Zone, according to zonal representative Shivlal Yadav.


Three other selectors, Ranjib Biswal (East Zone), Sanjay Jagdale (Central) and Bhupinder Singh (North) are expected to be re-nominated. None of them played Test cricket.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive