CricketArchive

Inzamam banned over refusal to play but cleared of ball-tampering
by AFP


Ground:Kennington Oval, Kennington
Scorecard:England v Pakistan
Player:Inzamam-ul-Haq
Event:Pakistan in British Isles 2006

DateLine: 28th September 2006

 

Pakistan cricket captain Inzamam-ul-Haq was cleared Thursday of ball-tampering but found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute over his side's refusal to play during last month's fourth Test against England.

 

After a two-day disciplinary hearing, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that Inzamam would be banned for four one-day internationals.

 

The sanction is considerably less severe than the maximum ban Inzamam could have received, which would have ruled him out for up to four Tests and up to eight one dayers.

 

Inzamam has 24 hours to decide whether he wants to appeal. If he does the ICC has 48 hours from receiving the request to appoint a code of conduct commission to hear the appeal and seven days from then in which to hold the appeal hearing.

 

If the 36-year-old batsman does not contest his punishment, the ban will rule him out of Pakistan's opening matches in the Champions Trophy in India where their first fixture is on October 17.

 

Inzamam, who received his ban after a hearing which started Wednesday at The Oval presided over by ICC chief match referee Ranjan Madugalle, was being punished for his role in Pakistan's unprecedented forfeit of the fourth Test against England at the south London ground last month.

 

Pakistan refused to take the field after tea on the fourth day of the fourth Test against England on August 20.

 

They did so in protest at the decision of umpires Darrell Hair and Billy Doctrove to penalise them five runs for ball-tampering earlier in the day.

 

Their stand saw Pakistan forfeit the match - the first time this had happened in 129 years of Test cricket - and England were awarded a win which gave them the series 3-0.

 

After the match ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed revealed Australian official Hair had sent the world governing body an e-mail saying he would stand down from their elite panel of officials in exchange for 500,000 dollars - an offer the umpire later rescinded.

 

It has still to be confirmed if Hair will be umpiring at the Champions Trophy and, if so, whether he will be standing in any Pakistan fixtures after the Pakistan Cricket Board requested, following events at The Oval, that he banned from officiating in any of their team's future matches.

 

The ICC are due to hold a news conference at The Oval at 3pm local time (1400GMT) Thursday.

(Article: Copyright © 2006 AFP)



LATEST SCORES





We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive