Butt, Younus flay Indian attack
by AFP

Ground:Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Scorecard:India v Pakistan
Player:Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Umar Gul, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni
Event:Kitply Cup 2008

DateLine: 14th June 2008


Salman Butt and Younus Khan cracked centuries to help Pakistan post a challenging 315-3 in the triangular one-day series final against India here on Saturday.


Left-handed opener Butt scored 129 before retiring hurt and Younus hit 108 in a magnificent display of strokemaking on a flat track after their team had elected to bat in the day-night match.


Pakistan, thrashed by India by a record 140 runs earlier in the tournament, raised their batting performance when it mattered most as both Younus and Butt put the attack to the sword during a 205-run stand for the second wicket.


Younus, who failed to open his account in the previous two games, made amends in the big match, dominating the Indian attack with bold shots on both sides of the wicket.


He was instrumental in stepping up the run-rate after Pakistan managed just 75 in the opening 20 overs. He hoisted part-time spinner Virender Sehwag for the first six and then hit two more sixes off leg-spinner Piyush Chawla.


Chawla conceded 85 runs in 10 wicketless overs, the third-most expensive spell by an Indian in one-day internationals after Javagal Srinath (87) and Thiru Kumaran (86).


Younus also hit eight fours in his 99-ball knock, his fourth century in one-day internationals.


Butt was outscored by his senior partner during the partnership. He gave a difficult chance on 19 when Rohit Sharma failed to hold a powerful cut in the covers off Praveen Kumar.


After that let-off the left-hander gave no hope to the Indian bowlers, striking the ball cleanly before retiring hurt with cramp. He hit three sixes and 12 fours in his 136-ball knock.


It was Butt's seventh century in one-day internationals, and his fifth against India.


Pakistan plundered 90 runs in the last 10 overs after Butt and Younus set the stage for the final onslaught.


Bangladesh were the other side taking part in the tournament.

(Article: Copyright © 2008 AFP)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive