Marylebone Cricket Club v Surrey Club
Other First-Class matches in England 1851
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 2nd, 3rd June 1851 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 55 runs
UmpiresJ Bayley, WH Caldecourt
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 53/7 (Haygarth ?*, Mayo ?*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Nicholsonc and b Gilbert22     
J Deanc Marshall b Gilbert25     
J Grundyc and b Gilbert0     
T Nixonb Brockwell2     
FM Wilsonb Sherman17     
A Haygarthc WH Miller b Brockwell11     
SCB Ponsonbyrun out0     
Lord Guernseyrun out0     
JP Mayob Lockyer12     
R Grimstonb Sherman14     
Earl of Wintertonnot out2     
Extras(12 b, 3 lb, 9 nb)24
Total(all out)129
Fall of wickets:
1-53, 2-53, 3-55, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-129
Surrey Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Surrey Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FP Millerb Grundy10     
GC Attfieldb Nixon0     
BN Driverc Wilson b Nixon6     
G Brockwellb Nixon14     
A Marshallc Nicholson b Grundy7     
E Reevesb Grundy1     
GHB Gilbertb Nixon0     
T Lockyerb Grundy30     
J Woodb Dean12     
T Shermanb Grundy2     
WH Millernot out0     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 4 w)11
Total(all out)93
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-93
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Grimstonc and b Sherman5     
SCB Ponsonbyrun out4     
W Nicholsonb Sherman0     
J Deanb Sherman0     
J Grundyb Sherman0     
T Nixonc Lockyer b Brockwell9     
FM Wilsonb Brockwell1     
A Haygarthrun out14     
JP Mayo hit wkt b Brockwell12     
Lord Guernseynot out16     
Earl of Wintertonc Lockyer b Gilbert9     
Extras(13 b, 2 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)21
Total(all out)91
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-53, 8-?, 9-?, 10-91
Surrey Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Surrey Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
E Reevesb Nixon16     
WH Millerc Guernsey b Dean13     
G Brockwellb Dean1     
T Lockyerb Dean0     
BN Driverb Nixon10     
GHB Gilbertb Grundy10     
FP Millerb Nixon0     
GC Attfieldnot out0     
A Marshallc Winterton b Nixon6     
J Woodb Grundy10     
T Shermanlbw b Grundy1     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out)72
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-72
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> FP Miller made his debut in first-class matches
--> WH Miller made his debut in first-class matches
--> J Wood made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> JP Mayo (1) equalled his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> T Lockyer (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> JP Mayo (2) equalled his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> BN Driver (2) equalled his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches

The Hon S Ponsonby played under the alias of 'Hon J Cecil' by agreement both sides included three professionals.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive