Oxford University v Marylebone Cricket Club
University Match 1873
VenueMagdalen Ground, Oxford on 15th, 16th, 17th May 1873 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
Players12 per side
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOxford University won by 7 wickets
UmpiresA Bowles, FH Farrands
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 321/9 (Garnier 66*, Boyle 11*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 233/8 (Biddulph 7*, Maude 2*)

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Lawc Biddulph b Shaw25     
D Campbellb Shaw4     
*CJ Ottawayb Wootton43     
WH Gamec Rylott b Wootton54     
AW Ridleyb Shaw15     
FPU Pickeringlbw b Shaw9     
+CEB Nepeanretired hurt20     
ES Garniernot out66     
Lord Harrisb Clayton4     
CA Wallrothc Biddulph b Clayton23     
SE Butlerrun out31     
CW Boylenot out11     
Extras(13 b, 2 lb, 1 w)16
Total(9 wickets, declared, 180 overs)321
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-49, 3-116, 4-143, 5-157, 6-160, 7-205, 8-243, 9-298
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shaw76   331014--
Wootton47   16862--
Clayton29   8632--
Tubb12   1220--
Maude8   21001-
Rylott8   1230--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WC Higginsb Boyle1     
+S Biddulphb Boyle10     
TS Pearsonb Ridley12     
A Shawb Boyle3     
CP Cooteb Ridley0     
W Evettsb Boyle2     
H Tubbb Boyle16     
Lord Cliftonb Boyle10     
RO Claytonnot out35     
A Rylottb Butler16     
G Woottonrun out14     
J Maudeb Boyle3     
Extras(3 b, 1 lb)4
Total(all out, 62 overs)126
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-21, 3-24, 4-27, 5-29, 6-47, 7-47, 8-62, 9-85, 10-114, 11-126 (62 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyle25   8407--
Ridley25   5452--
Butler12   2371--

Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
WC Higginsb Boyle9     
+S Biddulphc Butler b Ridley8     
TS Pearsonb Butler24     
A Shawrun out18     
CP Cooteb Campbell15     
W Evettsc Game b Ridley57     
H Tubbb Butler24     
Lord Cliftonb Ridley43     
RO Claytonb Boyle24     
A Rylottst +Ottaway b Ridley1     
G Woottonb Butler7     
J Maudenot out12     
Extras(6 b, 4 lb, 3 w)13
Total(all out, 108.2 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-255 (108.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boyle34   11602--
Ridley18   1434--
Campbell10   3201--
Law7   2210--
Game6   2120--
Garnier3   090--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Campbellc Tubb b Rylott2     
W Lawb Rylott16     
FPU Pickeringc sub (CJ Ottaway) b Shaw2     
CA Wallrothnot out21     
WH Gamest Biddulph b Rylott1     
Lord Harrisnot out15     
*CJ Ottawaydid not bat      
AW Ridleydid not bat      
+CEB Nepeandid not bat      
ES Garnierdid not bat      
SE Butlerdid not bat      
CW Boyledid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb)4
Total(4 wickets, 35.2 overs)61
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Campbell), 2-18 (Pickering), 3-? (Law), 4-31 (Game)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shaw18   4331--

--> W Law (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> WH Game (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> FPU Pickering made his debut in first-class matches
--> CEB Nepean (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> ES Garnier (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> SE Butler (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> CW Boyle made his debut in first-class matches
--> H Tubb made his debut in first-class matches
--> RO Clayton (1) passed his previous highest score of 34 in first-class matches
--> J Maude made his debut in first-class matches
--> TS Pearson (2) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> Lord Clifton (2) passed his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> Lord Harris (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> CEB Nepean retired hurt in the Oxford University first innings having scored 20 (team score 201/6)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive