Warwickshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1922
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 26th, 27th, 28th July 1922 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 4 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 5; Leicestershire 0
UmpiresHR Butt, J Moss
ScorersGC Austin (Warwickshire), SA Taylor (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 63/5 (King 26*, Coe 6*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 45/4 (Lord 18*, Astill 6*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Lordlbw b Calthorpe17     
A Mounteneylbw b Calthorpe1     
WE Astillb Calthorpe0     
JH Kingc Smith b Calthorpe32     
*GHS Fowkeb Calthorpe2     
G Gearyc Baynton b H Howell10     
S Coenot out81     
H Whiteheadc H Howell b Baynton3     
+TE Sidwellb Baynton1     
AW Shipmanst Smith b Quaife23     
WE Benskinlbw b Quaife0     
Extras(6 b, 6 lb)12
Total(all out, 96.5 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-12, 3-23, 4-33, 5-52, 6-96, 7-107, 8-114, 9-182, 10-182 (96.5 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
H Howell23   5411--
Calthorpe33   11445--
Baynton12   3312--
AL Howell15   5330--
Hewetson4   0110--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+EJ Smithb Astill22     
CAF Fiddian-Greenb Astill6     
LTA Bateslbw b Astill20     
WG Quaifeb Geary14     
*FSG Calthorpeb Astill29     
FR Santallc and b Astill6     
AL Murrayb Astill4     
RG Bayntonc Mounteney b Geary0     
AL Howellb Astill2     
EP Hewetsonb Astill20     
H Howellnot out4     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(all out, 37.2 overs)133
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-34, 3-61, 4-77, 5-90, 6-103, 7-106, 8-109, 9-122, 10-133 (37.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Geary19   3702--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Lordc Bates b Calthorpe23     
A Mounteneyc Calthorpe b H Howell2     
H Whiteheadb H Howell8     
*GHS Fowkec Calthorpe b Quaife1     
JH Kingb H Howell7     
WE Astillc Hewetson b H Howell30     
S Coenot out48     
G Gearyb H Howell0     
AW Shipmanrun out10     
+TE Sidwellb H Howell3     
WE Benskinb H Howell0     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 54.4 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-15, 3-24, 4-31, 5-71, 6-89, 7-89, 8-133, 9-136, 10-136 (54.4 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Calthorpe15   8241--
H Howell22.436571-
Quaife12   1211--
Hewetson3   090--
AL Howell2   0130--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CAF Fiddian-Greenb Astill2     
+EJ Smithb Astill20     
LTA Batesc Fowke b Astill31     
WG Quaifenot out39     
*FSG Calthorpec Sidwell b Shipman36     
FR Santalllbw b Astill4     
AL Murrayb Astill29     
RG Bayntonnot out10     
AL Howelldid not bat      
EP Hewetsondid not bat      
H Howelldid not bat      
Extras(12 b, 3 lb)15
Total(6 wickets, 64.2 overs)186
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-54, 3-63, 4-114, 5-123, 6-167
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Geary2   090--
Benskin14   4410--
Shipman11   4341--
King5   170--

--> G Geary (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> S Coe (1) passed 16500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> LTA Bates (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> WE Astill (2) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> LTA Bates (2) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> WE Astill achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 7-23)
--> WE Astill reached 750 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 6th wicket in the Warwickshire first innings
--> WE Astill achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 7-23)
--> H Howell reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> WG Quaife reached 650 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive