Queensland v Northern Rivers Districts
Other matches in Australia 1909/10
VenueBrisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane on 27th, 29th November 1909 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthern Rivers Districts won the toss and decided to field
ResultNorthern Rivers Districts won by a concession
UmpiresAT Horrigan, EW Jones
Close of play day 1Northern Rivers Districts (1) 263 all out

Queensland first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JW Fletcherc McAndrew b Dent2     
J Thomsonc Smith b Dent13     
GAL Brownb Dent16     
JS Hutcheonb Dent0     
JF Sheppardc Taylor b Meyers13     
SJ Fennellyc Cupitt b Dent2     
EK Armstrongc Dent b Meyers0     
JW Lewisc McAndrew b Meyers23     
*+WT Evansc Cupitt b Meyers10     
GW Duffinnot out0     
MJ Hartiganabsent ill
Extras(1 lb, 5 nb)6
Total(all out, 22 overs)85
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Fletcher), 2-21 (Thomson), 3-? (Hutcheon), 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-53, 8-84, 9-85 (22 ov)
Northern Rivers Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith1   0100-5
McAndrew7   3140--
Dent10   0425--
Meyers4   0134--

Northern Rivers Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Webbb Thomson36     
*JE Cupittc Evans b Fletcher70     
G Brownst Evans b Fletcher27     
F Smithb Duffin11     
T Harringtonb Duffin17     
+C Taylorb Duffin1     
TH Dentc Fennelly b Fletcher4     
JW McAndrewnot out51     
SJ Jamiesonc Hutcheon b Fletcher1     
CP Mackenziec Fennelly b Fletcher15     
A Meyersrun out12     
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 2 nb, 4 w)18
Total(all out, 217 minutes, 75.4 overs)263
Fall of wickets:
1-84 (Webb), 2-134 (Cupitt), 3-141 (Brown), 4-157 (Smith), 5-166 (Harrington), 6-167 (Taylor), 7-187 (Dent), 8-193 (Jamieson), 9-220 (Mackenzie), 10-263 (Meyers, 75.4 ov)
Queensland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lewis5   1140--
Armstrong10   1350-2
Thomson13   0541--
Hartigan9   3210--
Fletcher17   3435--

Queensland second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JW Fletcherb McAndrew71     
J Thomsonrun out31     
GAL Brownc Webb b Meyers3     
JS Hutcheonc Smith b Meyers12     
JF Sheppardb Dent4     
SJ Fennellyc Jamieson b Dent27     
EK Armstrongnot out73     
*+WT Evanslbw b Mackenzie31     
JW Lewisc Webb b Mackenzie9     
GW Duffinc and b McAndrew11     
MJ Hartiganabsent ill
Extras(16 b, 2 lb)18
Total(all out, 210 minutes, 51 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Thomson), 2-49 (Brown), 3-73 (Hutcheon), 4-77 (Sheppard), 5-? (Fennelly), 6-? (Fletcher), 7-? (Evans), 8-? (Lewis), 9-288 (Duffin, 51 ov)
Northern Rivers Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dent20   01092--
McAndrew13   0692--
Meyers10   0482--
Mackenzie8   0462--

Northern Rivers Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Webbb Lewis1     
+C Taylorc Sheppard b Armstrong11     
G Brownb Armstrong24     
F Smithnot out42     
JW McAndrewnot out24     
*JE Cupittdid not bat      
T Harringtondid not bat      
TH Dentdid not bat      
SJ Jamiesondid not bat      
CP Mackenziedid not bat      
A Meyersdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(3 wickets, 80 minutes, 28.1 overs)108
Fall of wickets:
1-? (Webb), 2-? (Taylor), 3-? (Brown)
Queensland bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Duffin5   0260--
Armstrong10   2272--
Thomson4   0190--

--> Bowling in the Northern Rivers Districts first innings adds 1 run under
--> Queensland second innings batting adds 2 runs over
--> Bowling in the Queensland second innings adds 2 runs over
--> Northern Rivers Districts second innings batting adds 1 run under

Overnight rain rendered the wicket soft for the second day of play and the wicket favoured the bowlers.
Play began in quite sensational fashion when the square leg umpire called the third ball bowled by Smith,
considering his action doubtful. Four more balls were called and Smith then completed the over bowling slows
and did not bowl again.
Hartigan was unwell at the commencement of the second day and was unable to take any further part in the game.
AEH Frew fielded in his place.
At 6.15 p.m., with the final over in progress, the players believed the match had reach a conclusion favourable
to the visitors and left the field. A check of the score books revealed a further three runs were required with
still five balls of the over to be bowled. By this time it was not possible to resume play and it was mutually
agreed that Northern Rivers Districts be declared the winners.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive