Marylebone Cricket Club v Minor Counties
Other matches in England 1898
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 13th, 14th June 1898 (2-day match)
Balls per over5
TossMinor Counties won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 5 wickets
UmpiresM Sherwin, VA Titchmarsh
Close of play day 1Minor Counties (2) 58/2 (GE Bromley-Martin 25*, Arnold 20*)

Minor Counties first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HK Fosterc Geeson b Roche5      
GE Bromley-Martinc Roche b Geeson32      
GJ Thompsonc Board b Geeson24      
EG Arnoldb Woodcock12      
J Hansellb Woodcock0      
FGH Claytonc sub b Geeson47      
GH Colsonc Ford b Geeson1      
+CE Cobbb Woodcock0      
EG Bromley-Martinc Ramsay b Geeson5      
AM Millerb Roche19      
W Overtonnot out15      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 2 w)11
Total(all out, 67 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-71, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-142, 10-171 (67 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Roche13   4342--
Woodcock17   9263--
Geeson23   76152-
Whitehead5   0130--
Ramsay9   1260--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CW Wrightb Arnold0      
FGJ Fordb Arnold8      
L Whiteheadc Cobb b EG Bromley-Martin72      
MF Ramsayb Arnold11      
FW Milliganb Overton9      
CC Hoyer Millarrun out23      
+JH Boardb Miller0      
AE Leathamc and b Arnold24      
F Geesonc Colson b Thompson21      
A Woodcockst Cobb b Thompson7      
W Rochenot out0      
Extras(12 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)15
Total(all out, 53.4 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-?, 3-?, 4-40, 5-134, 6-?, 7-138, 8-179, 9-?, 10-190 (53.4 ov)
Minor Counties bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold17   6444-1
Overton8   0341--
EG Bromley-Martin13   0521--
Miller5   191--

Minor Counties second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HK Fosterb Woodcock2      
GE Bromley-Martinc Woodcock b Geeson44      
GJ Thompsonc Board b Roche0      
EG Arnoldc Board b Milligan23      
J Hansellc Board b Roche62      
FGH Claytonc Board b Milligan3      
GH Colsonst Board b Roche11      
+CE Cobbnot out103      
EG Bromley-Martinst Board b Geeson45      
AM Millerb Geeson16      
W Overtonc Ford b Geeson1      
Extras(13 b, 7 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)23
Total(all out, 99 overs)333
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-11, 3-81, 4-81, 5-104, 6-135, 7-200, 8-301, 9-331, 10-333 (99 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Woodcock12   2431--
Roche28   10633--
Milligan26   78421-
Geeson25   6884-2
Hoyer Millar4   1190--
Whitehead4   0130--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FGJ Fordb Clayton70      
CW Wrightb Clayton47      
FW Milligannot out134      
L Whiteheadb Arnold3      
MF Ramsayc Miller b Arnold30      
CC Hoyer Millarrun out1      
+JH Boardnot out17      
AE Leathamdid not bat      
F Geesondid not bat      
A Woodcockdid not bat      
W Rochedid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 11 lb)16
Total(5 wickets, 74.1 overs)318
Fall of wickets:
1-112, 2-163, 3-166, 4-256, 5-274
Minor Counties bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson12   2500--
EG Bromley-Martin10   1580--
Overton5   0300--
Miller5   0130--
Clayton19   4542--

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project
MCC won this fast-scoring match at 6.45 pm on the second day with 15 minutes to spare, having being set a victory target of 315 runs in 3 hours and 5 minutes. For the winners, Milligan scored 134 not out and hit the winning runs with a direct hit into the pavilion. He batted for just an hour and 40 minutes, and his innings included 23 fours, 2 threes and 8 twos. There were 10 fours in Whitehead's 72 and 11 fours in Ford's 70. In the MCC second innings, Ford and Wright put on 112 runs for the first wicket. For the losers, there were 17 fours, 3 threes and 8 twos in Cobb's 103 not out, an innings of 2 hours, and Hansell's 62 contained 7 fours. In the Minor Counties second innings, Hansell and Cobb added 65 runs for the seventh wicket and Cobb and E G Bromley-Martin 101 runs for the eighth wicket.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive