Marylebone Cricket Club v Oxford University
University Match 1928
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 30th June, 2nd, 3rd July 1928 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOxford University won by 5 wickets
UmpiresHR Butt, HI Young
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 270/7 (Bennett 20*, Hubble 2*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 5/1 (Hubble 1*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Greenb McCanlis34     
TF Mitchellrun out60     
JR Barnesb CKH Hill-Wood62     
EH Hendrenc Benson b CKH Hill-Wood0     
ERT Holmesc sub b McIntosh44     
EL Kiddc Crawley b McIntosh12     
GC Newmanb Garland-Wells6     
CT Bennettb CKH Hill-Wood20     
+JC Hubbleb CKH Hill-Wood8     
FJ Durstonb CKH Hill-Wood8     
JA Powellnot out8     
Extras(24 b, 4 lb, 3 nb)31
Total(all out, 90.2 overs)293
Fall of wickets:
1-76, 2-120, 3-120, 4-214, 5-237, 6-242, 7-262, 8-274, 9-284, 10-293 (90.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
CKH Hill-Wood27.26825--
McIntosh18   3432--
McCanlis25   6731--
McBride16   3550--
Garland-Wells4   091--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Crawleyc Bennett b Durston0     
WN McBridec Bennett b Holmes3     
AT Barberc Bennett b Holmes44     
PGT Kingsleyc Barnes b Powell82     
NM Fordc Kidd b Powell28     
HM Garland-Wellsc Hubble b Durston48     
DJCH Hill-Woodb Powell35     
*MA McCanlisb Mitchell33     
CKH Hill-Woodc and b Hendren9     
+ET Bensonnot out11     
RIF McIntoshb Powell4     
Extras(14 b, 4 lb, 1 w)19
Total(all out, 109.5 overs)316
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-7, 3-116, 4-157, 5-169, 6-225, 7-275, 8-291, 9-304, 10-316 (109.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Durston31   12542--
Holmes13   2302--
Newman3   160--
Mitchell21   5611--
Kidd3   0250--
Hendren5   231--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MA Greenb CKH Hill-Wood2     
+JC Hubblec McBride b McIntosh44     
JR Barnesb Garland-Wells24     
EH Hendrenb McIntosh10     
ERT Holmesc McBride b McCanlis79     
TF Mitchellc Crawley b McIntosh18     
EL Kiddb Garland-Wells49     
GC Newmanc McCanlis b McBride42     
CT Bennettb McBride0     
FJ Durstonnot out0     
JA Powelldid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 4 lb, 3 nb)17
Total(9 wickets, declared, 82.2 overs)285
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-45, 3-83, 4-88, 5-110, 6-211, 7-273, 8-274, 9-285 (82.2 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
CKH Hill-Wood20   5541--
McIntosh17   2763--
McCanlis14   4361--
Garland-Wells29   7982--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Crawleyb Holmes101     
DJCH Hill-Woodc Holmes b Durston10     
AT Barberc Durston b Holmes72     
PGT Kingsleyc Newman b Holmes21     
HM Garland-Wellsb Durston19     
NM Fordnot out10     
*MA McCanlisnot out8     
WN McBridedid not bat      
CKH Hill-Wooddid not bat      
+ET Bensondid not bat      
RIF McIntoshdid not bat      
Extras(20 b, 4 lb)24
Total(5 wickets, 50.2 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-46, 2-184, 3-203, 4-236, 5-256
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Holmes14   2813--
Powell10   0490--
Mitchell7   1350--
Hendren4   0250--

--> CT Bennett made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> TF Mitchell (1) passed his previous highest score of 47 in first-class matches
--> FJ Durston (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> EL Kidd (2) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> AM Crawley (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 74
--> AM Crawley (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> AT Barber (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 35
--> CKH Hill-Wood achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 4-100)
--> CKH Hill-Wood achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive