Somerset v Staffordshire
Other matches in England 1890
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 11th, 12th August 1890 (2-day match)
Balls per over5
TossStaffordshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSomerset won by an innings and 171 runs
UmpiresFH Farrands, T Mycroft
Close of play day 1Somerset (1) 153/5 (Hewett 96*, Tyler ?*)

Staffordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+I Brookesrun out3     
WH Calkinb Tyler0     
FW Marlowc Nichols b Tyler22     
HT Jameslbw b Tyler0     
FT Cozensc LCH Palairet b Tyler0     
FR Twemlowb Nichols4     
H Briscoest Compton b Tyler3     
H Shawc RCN Palairet b Tyler0     
J Brownnot out10     
OH Vaughtonabsent
CR Durbanabsent
Extras(1 b)1
Total(all out, 46.1 overs)43
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-15, 3-22, 4-22, 5-29, 6-32, 7-32, 8-43 (46.1 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols23   13211--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HT Hewettnot out203     
LCH Palairetc Calkin b Brown7     
JB Challenc and b Calkin18     
GB Nicholslbw b Calkin10     
WN Roec Briscoe b Brown2     
RCN Palairetb Briscoe10     
EJ Tylerrun out41     
AE Clapplbw b Shaw14     
CJ Robinsonnot out23     
WAR Youngdid not bat      
+LW Comptondid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 1 w)10
Total(7 wickets, declared, 78 overs)338
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-68, 3-91, 4-102, 5-136, 6-238, 7-295
Staffordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shaw12   1521--
Brown32   41252--
Calkin21   4842--
Briscoe8   0451--
Marlow5   1220--

Staffordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+I Brookesb Nichols1     
WH Calkinc LCH Palairet b Tyler3     
FW Marlowc Clapp b Nichols6     
HT Jamesc Young b Nichols1     
J Brownc Hewett b Nichols43     
FT Cozensc RCN Palairet b Tyler27     
FR Twemlownot out34     
H Briscoerun out0     
H Shawc Clapp b Tyler4     
OH Vaughtonabsent
CR Durbanabsent
Extras(5 b)5
Total(all out, 66.1 overs)124
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-4, 3-6, 4-30, 5-71, 6-111, 7-115, 8-124 (66.1 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols27   17344--
Roe4   160--
LCH Palairet6   1140--





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive