Bengal Presidency v Lord Hawke's XI
Lord Hawke's XI in Ceylon and India 1892/93
VenueCalcutta on 13th, 14th, 16th January 1893 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossLord Hawke's XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
Close of play day 1Bengal Presidency (2) 8/0
Close of play day 2No play

Lord Hawke's XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*Lord Hawkerun out17     
JHJ Hornsbyb Hair8     
JS Robinsonc Neale b Hoare5     
GF Vernonc Moran b Hoare28     
FS Jacksonb Hair10     
AJL Hillb Hoare8     
CW Wrightrun out37     
ABE Gibsonb RES Thomas16     
HF Wrightc and b RES Thomas4     
GAT Foljambeb Hoare3     
C Heseltinenot out19     
Total(all out, 52.2 overs)158
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-158 (52.2 ov)
Bengal Presidency bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Campbell10   2320--
Hair21   5452--
Moran5   1140--
RES Thomas5   1112--

Bengal Presidency first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Nealec and b Hornsby2     
WE Moranb Heseltine5     
CD Johnsonb Hornsby6     
JDC Campbellc Hornsby b Hill27     
HR Carruthersc Hornsby b Heseltine0     
RES Thomaslbw b Hornsby5     
FT Painec CW Wright b Hornsby0     
CS Hickleyb Hornsby0     
J Thomasc CW Wright b Hornsby24     
HJ Hoarec CW Wright b Hill0     
RK Hairnot out0     
Total(all out, 36.1 overs)72
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-72 (36.1 ov)
Lord Hawke's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Heseltine11   4232--
Hill7   3112--

Bengal Presidency second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Nealelbw b Foljambe34     
WE Moranc Foljambe b Heseltine40     
CD Johnsonc CW Wright b Gibson16     
JDC Campbellc Jackson b Hornsby40     
HR Carruthersc Jackson b Gibson16     
RES Thomasc Hawke b Hornsby19     
FT Painenot out35     
CS Hickleyb Gibson35     
J Thomasb Hornsby11     
HJ Hoarenot out4     
RK Hairdid not bat      
Total(8 wickets, declared, 104 overs)268
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?
Lord Hawke's XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gibson22   6483--
Foljambe12   6171--
Hornsby30   9683--
Hill17   4480--
Jackson18   5490--
Heseltine5   2201-2

Lord Hawke's XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*Lord Hawkeb Hair25     
JHJ Hornsbyb Hoare4     
JS Robinsonb Hair0     
GF Vernonc RES Thomas b Hoare0     
FS Jacksonc Paine b Hoare13     
AJL Hillb Hoare0     
CW Wrightnot out31     
ABE Gibsonnot out5     
HF Wrightdid not bat      
GAT Foljambedid not bat      
C Heseltinedid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, 26 overs)83
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?
Bengal Presidency bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hair13   5322--
Hoare11   2384--
Campbell2   080--

There was no play on Saturday 14th being a holiday in consequence of the race in the Maidan





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive