South Australia v South Africans
South Africa in Australia and New Zealand 1931/32
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 22nd, 23rd, 25th, 26th January 1932 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Africans won by 7 wickets
UmpiresGA Hele, AG Jenkins
Close of play day 1South Africans (1) 178/1 (Mitchell 49*, Taylor 51*)
Close of play day 2South Africans (1) 512 all out
Close of play day 3South Australia (2) 380/8 (Grimmett 38*, Wall 14*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VY Richardsonb McMillan53     
HC Nitschkeb McMillan62     
AR Lonerganst van der Merwe b McMillan23     
MG Waitelbw b Brown5     
BJ Tobinlbw b Brown2     
DG Jamiesonc van der Merwe b McMillan6     
PK Leelbw b Brown11     
CV Grimmettrun out5     
+CW Walkernot out7     
TW Wallb McMillan5     
TA Carltonc Balaskas b McMillan10     
Extras(2 b, 6 lb)8
Total(all out, 172 minutes, 47.1 overs)197
Fall of wickets:
1-75, 2-128, 3-139, 4-151, 5-153, 6-164, 7-171, 8-177, 9-183, 10-197 (47.1 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bell5   280--
Christy5   0310--
Vincent9   2360--
Brown11   2233--

South Africans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JAJ Christyc Walker b Jamieson74     
B Mitchellb Grimmett82     
HW Taylorb Carlton97     
KG Viljoenc Walker b Lee30     
*HB Cameron hit wkt b Grimmett37     
XC Balaskasc Grimmett b Waite25     
CL Vincentst Walker b Grimmett83     
Q McMillanc Wall b Grimmett39     
+EA van der Merweb Grimmett22     
LS Brownb Grimmett1     
AJ Bellnot out7     
Extras(10 b, 5 lb)15
Total(all out, 400 minutes, 113.5 overs)512
Fall of wickets:
1-96, 2-241, 3-280, 4-328, 5-328, 6-378, 7-465, 8-479, 9-489, 10-512 (113.5 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wall18   11030--
Carlton16   4401--
Jamieson17   5381--
Tobin7   1270--
Lee17   0831--
Waite7   0511--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VY Richardsonrun out (Brown->McMillan)61     
HC Nitschkerun out (Balaskas->van der Merwe)44     
AR Lonerganc Viljoen b Vincent119     
MG Waitec Viljoen b Vincent9     
BJ Tobinlbw b Vincent12     
DG Jamiesonst van der Merwe b Christy34     
PK Leeb Vincent28     
CV Grimmettnot out63     
+CW Walkerb Vincent1     
TW Wallc and b Balaskas32     
TA Carltonb Balaskas4     
Extras(15 b, 6 lb, 2 w)23
Total(all out, 356 minutes, 104.5 overs)430
Fall of wickets:
1-71, 2-129, 3-143, 4-165, 5-247, 6-298, 7-335, 8-337, 9-420, 10-430 (104.5 ov)
South Africans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bell2   080--
Brown23   3890--
Vincent37   11785--
McMillan25   01460--
Mitchell5   0220--
Cameron2   01302-
Christy7   1371--

South Africans second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JAJ Christyb Wall4     
B Mitchellc Walker b Carlton8     
HW Taylornot out68     
XC Balaskaslbw b Grimmett5     
*HB Cameronnot out30     
KG Viljoendid not bat      
CL Vincentdid not bat      
Q McMillandid not bat      
+EA van der Merwedid not bat      
LS Browndid not bat      
AJ Belldid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(3 wickets, 93 minutes, 25 overs)117
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-41, 3-58
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wall4   0221--
Carlton8   2161--
Grimmett9   2451--
Jamieson3   0240--
Lee1   080--

--> HW Taylor (1) passed 11500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 66
--> CL Vincent (1) passed his previous highest score of 75 in first-class matches
--> HC Nitschke (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> AR Lonergan (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 48
--> DG Jamieson (2) passed his previous highest score of 16 in first-class matches
--> PK Lee (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> CV Grimmett reached 800 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the South Africans second innings

12th Men: WE Catchlove (SA) and SH Curnow (SAF)
Crowds: No daily figures published. Total: 8870. Receipts: 424 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive