Marylebone Cricket Club v Oxford University
University Match 1932
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 22nd, 23rd, 24th June 1932 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOxford University won by 111 runs
UmpiresJC Hubble, TW Oates
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 147/3 (Taylor 38*, Crawley 17*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 47/1 (Dawson 15*, Valentine 9*)

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FGH Chalkc Brown b Crawley0      
RHJ Brookest Stanyforth b Brown140      
BW Honelbw b Brown31      
PGV van der Bijlc Pataudi b Jupp28      
EN Evansb Brown20      
*A Melvillelbw b Jupp11      
HGO Owen-Smithc Wignall b Crawley24      
TM Hartrun out29      
EA Barlownot out2      
+PC Oldfieldb Jupp4      
AR Legardb Jupp0      
Extras(15 b, 5 lb, 2 nb)22
Total(all out, 89 overs)311
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-48, 3-142, 4-183, 5-204, 6-242, 7-302, 8-306, 9-311, 10-311 (89 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawley12   0402--
Covill19   3640--
Brown21   3713--
Wignall12   3280--
Jupp25   2864--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EW Dawsonb Hart2      
RJ Covillc and b Barlow9      
BH Valentinec Chalk b Owen-Smith71      
HW Taylorc Hone b Hart44      
AM Crawleylbw b Owen-Smith35      
RA Inglec and b Legard13      
VWC Juppc Hart b Melville17      
FR Brownb Melville27      
Nawab of Pataudist Oldfield b Hart7      
*+RT Stanyforthc van der Bijl b Melville0      
WH Wignallnot out5      
Extras(12 b, 7 lb)19
Total(all out, 90.1 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-44, 3-114, 4-153, 5-180, 6-186, 7-224, 8-233, 9-233, 10-249 (90.1 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barlow27   8471--
Owen-Smith17   0652--
Legard16   3461--
Melville11   0463--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FGH Chalkrun out4      
EN Evansb Jupp91      
BW Honec and b Jupp27      
PGV van der Bijlnot out47      
RHJ Brookelbw b Jupp4      
*A Melvilleb Brown44      
HGO Owen-Smithc Ingle b Crawley7      
TM Hartb Covill1      
EA Barlowst Stanyforth b Covill1      
+PC Oldfieldb Covill4      
AR Legardb Covill0      
Extras(27 b, 3 lb, 1 w)31
Total(all out, 73.3 overs)261
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-112, 3-145, 4-149, 5-221, 6-238, 7-241, 8-245, 9-261, 10-261 (73.3 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawley11   5281--
Brown18   4681--
Wignall4   180--
Jupp25   1853--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Crawleyc Chalk b Melville22      
EW Dawsonc Oldfield b Hart27      
BH Valentinec and b Owen-Smith21      
HW Taylorrun out21      
Nawab of Pataudic Chalk b Owen-Smith5      
RA Inglec and b Owen-Smith78      
RJ Covillc Barlow b Owen-Smith0      
VWC Jupplbw b Legard0      
FR Brownst Oldfield b Melville26      
*+RT Stanyforthst Oldfield b Melville0      
WH Wignallnot out6      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb)6
Total(all out, 62.3 overs)212
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-66, 3-77, 4-85, 5-103, 6-103, 7-104, 8-157, 9-169, 10-212 (62.3 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hart10   1241--
Barlow16   4690--
Legard10   3321--
Melville11   0383--

--> RHJ Brooke (1) passed his previous highest score of 123 in first-class matches
--> WH Wignall made his debut in first-class matches
--> EN Evans (2) passed his previous highest score of 55 in first-class matches
--> EW Dawson (2) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> BH Valentine (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 11
--> TM Hart achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 1-13)
--> VWC Jupp reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Oxford University second innings
--> HGO Owen-Smith reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive