South Australia v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1932/33
VenueAdelaide Oval, Adelaide on 10th, 11th, 13th, 14th March 1933 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresEH Kitson, JD Scott
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 240/4 (Jardine 48*, Ames 36*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 6/0 (Paynter 5*, Duckworth 1*)
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 371/8 (Leyland 152*, Voce 33*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
E Paynterc Ryan b Grimmett62      
H Verityc Ryan b Williams12      
RES Wyattc Williams b Grimmett43      
M Leylandc Nitschke b Lee36      
*DR Jardinec Walker b Tobin48      
LEG Amesc Lonergan b Tobin63      
MW Tateb Tobin0      
W Vocec Walker b Williams3      
+G Duckworthnot out13      
WE Bowesrun out (Grimmett->Walker)4      
TB Mitchellc Shepherd b Grimmett10      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb)4
Total(all out, 351 minutes, 94.1 overs)298
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-117, 3-121, 4-189, 5-241, 6-241, 7-266, 8-272, 9-277, 10-298 (94.1 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tobin15   1653--
Williams20   3462--
Lee24   7431--
Ryan10   4160--

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VY Richardsonc Verity b Bowes0      
HC Nitschkec Paynter b Voce38      
AR Lonerganb Bowes13      
AG Shepherdb Voce17      
BJ Tobinb Verity18      
AJ Ryanc Tate b Bowes61      
JS Palmerc Wyatt b Tate15      
PK Leeb Tate8      
CV Grimmettc Mitchell b Verity7      
RG Williamsnot out9      
+CW Walkerc Duckworth b Tate0      
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 210 minutes, 49.7 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-34, 3-68, 4-75, 5-107, 6-164, 7-173, 8-176, 9-190, 10-191 (49.7 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bowes10   0603--
Voce9   0332-1
Verity15   5282--
Mitchell4   0290--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
E Paynterc Lonergan b Lee47      
+G Duckworthrun out (Palmer->Walker)4      
RES Wyattc Richardson b Williams11      
M Leylandnot out152      
*DR Jardinec Walker b Tobin65      
LEG Amesc Ryan b Williams23      
MW Tateb Williams4      
H Verityb Lee13      
TB Mitchellb Lee4      
W Vocenot out33      
WE Bowesdid not bat      
Extras(12 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)15
Total(8 wickets, declared, 303 minutes, 76 overs)371
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-41, 3-78, 4-220, 5-261, 6-265, 7-314, 8-322
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tobin11   0651-2
Williams21   210731-
Grimmett23   3850--
Lee15   3653--
Ryan6   1340--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*VY Richardsonb Voce20      
HC Nitschkelbw b Mitchell87      
AR Lonerganc Verity b Bowes36      
AG Shepherdb Bowes6      
AJ Ryanc Voce b Bowes25      
BJ Tobinnot out52      
PK Leec Verity b Bowes5      
JS Palmerb Tate22      
RG Williamsc Voce b Mitchell23      
CV Grimmettnot out15      
+CW Walkerdid not bat      
Extras(19 b, 3 lb)22
Total(8 wickets, 289 minutes, 70 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-57, 2-135, 3-151, 4-175, 5-213, 6-240, 7-255, 8-287
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bowes15   0954--
Tate18   2611--
Voce13   2441--
Verity12   2440--
Mitchell11   2342--
Jardine1   0130--

--> JS Palmer made his debut in first-class matches
--> BJ Tobin (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 46
--> JS Palmer made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> RG Williams (2) passed his previous highest score of 13 in first-class matches
--> MW Tate reached 2300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the South Australia first innings
--> RG Williams achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 2-46)
--> BJ Tobin retired hurt in the South Australia second innings having scored 32 (team score 220/5) - he returned when the score was 287/8

12th Men: MG Waite (SA) and FR Brown (MCC)
Crowds: 4989, ? , ? , ? . Total: 19,314. Receipts: 638 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive