Sussex v Oxford University
University Match 1937
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 26th, 28th, 29th June 1937 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOxford University won by 3 wickets
UmpiresHE Roberts, J Stoneham
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 102/3 (Kimpton 9*)
Close of play day 2Oxford University (2) 45/1 (Dixon 13*, Mitchell-Innes 21*)

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MW Tatelbw b Darwall-Smith8     
+VJ Eatonc Barton b Mitchell-Innes2     
G Coxb Mitchell-Innes32     
BL Cumming hit wkt b Darwall-Smith6     
KB Scottb Darwall-Smith11     
RG Staintonb Darwall-Smith56     
*HT Bartlettc Grover b Darwall-Smith99     
JY Oakeslbw b Mitchell-Innes23     
AG Tuppinnot out31     
DJ Woodc Matthews b Darwall-Smith1     
JK Nyeb Mitchell-Innes51     
Extras(18 b, 2 lb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 92 overs)341
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-16, 3-26, 4-63, 5-70, 6-233, 7-240, 8-260, 9-261, 10-341 (92 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darwall-Smith27   21046--
Mitchell-Innes22   2704--
Ballance25   8610--
Murray-Wood9   0510--
Kimpton9   0340--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EJH Dixonb Nye7     
MR Bartonb Tuppin29     
*NS Mitchell-Innesc Eaton b Tuppin53     
RCM Kimptonc Nye b Scott95     
JN Groverlbw b Tuppin1     
MM Walfordlbw b Tuppin10     
JG Hallidaylbw b Tuppin0     
W Murray-Woodb Wood8     
RFH Darwall-Smithb Scott4     
+MH Matthewsb Wood2     
TGL Ballancenot out0     
Extras(6 b, 9 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(all out, 68.1 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-89, 3-102, 4-118, 5-138, 6-138, 7-163, 8-222, 9-225, 10-225 (68.1 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nye17   4631--
Tate10   1260--
Tuppin23   3545--
Scott3   1132--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+VJ Eatonb Darwall-Smith29     
AG Tuppinb Darwall-Smith24     
G Coxc Murray-Wood b Darwall-Smith0     
KB Scottc Ballance b Darwall-Smith2     
BL Cummingc and b Ballance22     
RG Staintonc and b Kimpton51     
*HT Bartlettc Dixon b Darwall-Smith51     
JY Oakeslbw b Mitchell-Innes34     
DJ Woodlbw b Darwall-Smith4     
JK Nyenot out2     
MW Tateabsent hurt
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(all out, 63.3 overs)230
Fall of wickets:
1-34, 2-35, 3-37, 4-73, 5-89, 6-160, 7-213, 8-224, 9-230 (63.3 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darwall-Smith23   4796--
Ballance16   2741--
Murray-Wood4   0140--
Kimpton1   101--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EJH Dixonb Tuppin38     
MR Bartonlbw b Scott5     
*NS Mitchell-Innesb Scott109     
RCM Kimptonst Eaton b Bartlett32     
JN Groverc Nye b Wood12     
MM Walfordlbw b Tuppin38     
JG Hallidayretired hurt3     
W Murray-Woodnot out43     
RFH Darwall-Smithlbw b Tuppin8     
+MH Matthewsnot out30     
TGL Ballancedid not bat      
Extras(18 b, 9 lb, 2 nb)29
Total(7 wickets, 113 overs)347
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-117, 3-162, 4-178, 5-246, 6-273, 7-281
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nye28   3690--
Wood24   0881--
Tuppin29   6523--
Scott20   4552--
Oakes10   2460--
Bartlett2   081--

--> JG Halliday made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AG Tuppin (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in first-class matches
--> JK Nye (1) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> RCM Kimpton (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 54
--> NS Mitchell-Innes (2) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> KB Scott made his debut for Sussex in first-class matches
--> RFH Darwall-Smith reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> AG Tuppin achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings (previous best was 3-117)
--> AG Tuppin achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Oxford University first innings
--> JG Halliday retired hurt in the Oxford University second innings having scored 3 (team had lost 5 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive