Marylebone Cricket Club v Oxford University
University Match 1937
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 30th June, 1st, 2nd July 1937 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 226 runs
UmpiresG Beet, JA Newman
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 39/2 (Mitchell-Innes 25*, Whetherly 0*)
Close of play day 2Oxford University (2) 81/2 (Mitchell-Innes 23*, Whetherly 5*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WAC Wilkinsonb Darwall-Smith4     
SM Brownb Macindoe0     
WJ Edrichlbw b Macindoe1     
RES Wyattc and b Macindoe53     
DCS Comptonst Whetherly b Ballance116     
HGO Owen-Smithnot out168     
JM Simsc and b Singleton44     
APF Chapmanc Singleton b Macindoe7     
M Jahangir Khanb Kimpton33     
MJC Allomb Kimpton4     
+JTH Comberb Macindoe20     
Extras(18 b, 12 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)34
Total(all out, 99.5 overs)484
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-12, 3-20, 4-175, 5-216, 6-336, 7-365, 8-415, 9-419, 10-484 (99.5 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darwall-Smith19   5661--
Mitchell-Innes14   1880--
Ballance15   4531--
Singleton9   0721--
Kimpton8   1412--
Scott3   170--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EJH Dixonlbw b Sims10     
MR Bartonc Sims b Jahangir Khan1     
NS Mitchell-Innesc Jahangir Khan b Edrich84     
+RE Whetherlyb Owen-Smith63     
RCM Kimptonst Comber b Owen-Smith12     
*AP Singletonlbw b Owen-Smith0     
JN Groverst Comber b Owen-Smith1     
KB Scottb Sims11     
RFH Darwall-Smithc Brown b Owen-Smith17     
DH Macindoec Jahangir Khan b Sims16     
TGL Ballancenot out0     
Extras(17 b, 1 lb)18
Total(all out, 62.2 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-38, 3-170, 4-176, 5-176, 6-183, 7-184, 8-208, 9-228, 10-233 (62.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Allom12   2450--
Jahangir Khan10   2321--
Edrich12   2321--
Compton5   0350--
Owen-Smith9   1335--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WAC Wilkinsonc Mitchell-Innes b Kimpton20     
SM Brownb Macindoe35     
WJ Edrichc Kimpton b Ballance64     
RES Wyattc and b Ballance9     
DCS Comptonc Macindoe b Ballance50     
HGO Owen-Smithc Scott b Ballance16     
M Jahangir Khannot out18     
JM Simsnot out10     
APF Chapmandid not bat      
MJC Allomdid not bat      
+JTH Comberdid not bat      
Extras(20 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)23
Total(6 wickets, declared, 72 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-55, 2-69, 3-96, 4-190, 5-205, 6-218
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darwall-Smith5   1150--
Macindoe13   8151--
Mitchell-Innes8   1460--
Ballance22   5654--
Singleton18   5540--
Kimpton6   0271--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
EJH Dixonb Owen-Smith12     
MR Bartonc Edrich b Allom30     
NS Mitchell-Innesb Allom40     
+RE Whetherlyst Comber b Owen-Smith6     
RCM Kimptonc and b Jahangir Khan78     
*AP Singletonrun out7     
JN Groverc Edrich b Sims24     
KB Scottb Sims41     
RFH Darwall-Smithc Comber b Allom1     
DH Macindoeb Allom5     
TGL Ballancenot out0     
Extras(19 b, 6 lb, 1 w)26
Total(all out, 62.1 overs)270
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-56, 3-98, 4-120, 5-136, 6-174, 7-237, 8-246, 9-270, 10-270 (62.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jahangir Khan9   0381--
Sims10   2452--
Compton5   0340--
Owen-Smith16   0732--

--> DCS Compton (1) passed his previous highest score of 100 in first-class matches
--> HGO Owen-Smith (1) passed his previous highest score of 129 in first-class matches
--> RE Whetherly (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> WJ Edrich (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 45
--> DH Macindoe achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 4-43)
--> DH Macindoe achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> RFH Darwall-Smith reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive