Marylebone Cricket Club v Oxford University
University Match 1938
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 18th, 20th, 21st June 1938 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOxford University won the toss and decided to field
ResultOxford University won by 9 wickets
UmpiresJ Hardstaff, HW Lee
Close of play day 1Oxford University (1) 16/0 (Walford 9*, Lomas 5*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 31/2 (Robertson 16*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WAC Wilkinsonc Young b Macindoe93     
JDB Robertsonc Kimpton b Young51     
WH Wignallb Macindoe72     
JH Pawlerun out12     
FW Putnerb Macindoe1     
+GHC Beetc Pershke b Darwall-Smith24     
*APF Chapmanrun out78     
WT Nevellc Eagar b Macindoe25     
EA Robertsb Darwall-Smith0     
LH Grayc Kimpton b Macindoe21     
JM Brocklebanknot out0     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb)10
Total(all out, 112.1 overs)387
Fall of wickets:
1-86, 2-216, 3-219, 4-227, 5-238, 6-284, 7-344, 8-344, 9-382, 10-387 (112.1 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Darwall-Smith32   41032--
Pershke14   1410--
Young21   2941--
Whitehouse13   0450--
Eagar3   090--

Oxford University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MM Walfordlbw b Nevell26     
JM Lomasc Wilkinson b Gray97     
JD Eggarb Brocklebank6     
EDR Eagarrun out6     
+RCM Kimptonb Brocklebank39     
*JN Groverlbw b Robertson15     
PMW Whitehousec Wilkinson b Wignall35     
DE Youngb Gray5     
DH Macindoeb Roberts13     
RFH Darwall-Smithnot out33     
WJ Pershkeb Gray15     
Extras(14 b, 2 nb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 114 overs)307
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-73, 3-90, 4-140, 5-175, 6-215, 7-223, 8-252, 9-258, 10-307 (114 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gray29   10733--
Nevell23   4691--
Roberts17   8231--
Brocklebank28   10852--
Robertson11   2311--
Wignall6   391--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WAC Wilkinsonc Kimpton b Darwall-Smith5     
JDB Robertsonc and b Young43     
WH Wignallrun out10     
JH Pawleb Young35     
FW Putnerb Darwall-Smith28     
+GHC Beetc Macindoe b Young18     
*APF Chapmanc Kimpton b Darwall-Smith20     
WT Nevellc Eagar b Darwall-Smith10     
EA Robertslbw b Young1     
LH Graynot out14     
JM Brocklebankdid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 5 lb, 1 w)15
Total(9 wickets, declared, 72.1 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-31, 3-98, 4-105, 5-127, 6-171, 7-176, 8-177, 9-199 (72.1 ov)
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Macindoe14   4400--
Pershke7   1210--
Young19   6424--
Whitehouse9   0350--

Oxford University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MM Walfordnot out201 148272 
JM Lomasb Wignall50     
JD Eggarnot out15     
EDR Eagardid not bat      
+RCM Kimptondid not bat      
*JN Groverdid not bat      
PMW Whitehousedid not bat      
DE Youngdid not bat      
DH Macindoedid not bat      
RFH Darwall-Smithdid not bat      
WJ Pershkedid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 4 lb, 1 w)14
Total(1 wicket, 51.2 overs)280
Fall of wickets:
1-151 (Lomas)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gray14   2560--
Roberts6   0590--
Brocklebank6   0460--
Robertson5   1280--
Wignall7   0311--

--> WH Wignall made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> FW Putner made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> GHC Beet made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> WH Wignall (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> MM Walford (2) passed his previous highest score of 75 in first-class matches
--> MM Walford (2) made his first century in first-class matches
--> MM Walford (2) 200 in 150 minutes





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive