Eton Ramblers v Household Brigade
Other matches in England 1879
VenuePrince's Cricket Ground, Chelsea on 27th May 1879 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultHousehold Brigade won by 10 wickets
UmpiresW Draper, F Newland

Eton Ramblers inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Pepysc and b Rowley16      
WH Hayb Kenyon-Slaney33      
RG Hargreavesb Howard3      
E Hanburyc Dawnay b Howard2      
Viscount Lewishamc McIntyre b Caledon51      
B Lawleyc Howard b Kenyon-Slaney4      
E Lubbocklbw b Kenyon-Slaney2      
CH Thomasb Rowley17      
Lord Willoughby de Brokest Mildmay b Rowley2      
AG Bovillb Kenyon-Slaney0      
LW Matthewsnot out9      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 6 w)12
Total(all out)151
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-151
Household Brigade bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Household Brigade inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CR Rowleynot out106      
EH Dawnayretired not out53      
+HPS Mildmayc Lawley b Matthews3      
CG Sinclairc Hay b Bovill1      
A Ackland Hoodnot out18      
WS Kenyon-Slaneydid not bat      
Howarddid not bat      
J Maghilldid not bat      
Earl of Caledondid not bat      
E McIntyredid not bat      
LFG Byngdid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 2 w)3
Total(2 wickets)184
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?
Eton Ramblers bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> Household Brigade batted on after winning

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
Source records the result as "Unfinished", it may be that the match was scheduled for two innings.
Source does not make clear how many wickets had fallen when Household Brigade passed the Eton Ramblers total.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive