Leicestershire v Leicestershire Colts
Other matches in England 1879
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 14th, 15th April 1879 (2-day match)
Balls per over4
PlayersLeicestershire: 12; Leicestershire Colts: 21
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresG Bishop, M Hawksworth
Close of play day 1Leicestershire Colts (1) 58/15 (Cumberledge 0*, Goadby 1*)

Leicestershire Colts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Bostockb Randon2     
CA Mounteneyc Freer b Rylott3     
WS Worthyb Rylott2     
W Colverc Parnham b Rylott9     
L Lambertb Rylott2     
F Dalbyc Parnham b Rylott1     
F Simpkinb Randon0     
J Keenb Rylott9     
JH Pallettrun out16     
*E Richardsonb Randon4     
F Balllbw b Randon4     
JH Jordanb Randon0     
HJW Wheelerc Parnham b Rylott1     
JA Cumberledgenot out0     
FT Herbertb Rylott0     
J Winnb Randon3     
J Goadbynot out1     
SG Elliottdid not bat      
T Martindid not bat      
W Gearydid not bat      
W Hewittdid not bat      
Total(15 wickets, 69 overs)58
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-?, 12-?, 13-?, 14-?, 15-?
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rylott34   25198--
Randon29   14316--
Parnham6   170--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Balldid not bat      
W Bottomoredid not bat      
F Daftdid not bat      
JL Freerdid not bat      
*NJ Hughes-Hallettdid not bat      
G Panterdid not bat      
JT Parnhamdid not bat      
J Pickworthdid not bat      
F Randondid not bat      
J Rodwelldid not bat      
A Rylottdid not bat      
HM Walterdid not bat      

--> There was no play on the final day.

No play possible on day 2 due to snow.
Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
Source states that the Leicestershire Colts came from the following clubs: Anstey (Geary), Bottesford (Winn), Earl Shilton (Ball, Worthy), Kegworth (Lambert), Leicester (Bostock, Colver, Dalby, Elliott, Goadby, Herbert, Hewitt, Jordan, Keen, Martin, Richardson), Loughborough (Mounteney, Pallett, Simpkin), Lutterworth (Cumberledge) and Sutton Bonnington (Wheeler).





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive