Rugby School v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other matches in England 1879
VenueRugby School Ground, Rugby on 11th, 12th June 1879 (2-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
Close of play day 1

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Wheelerb Leslie0     
RO Claytonb Leggatt7     
OD Brooksc Leggatt b Leslie0     
WS Shirleyb Leslie6     
J Westc Cave b Leggatt5     
FB Shadwellc Cobb b Leggatt8     
+M Sherwinc Kempson b Leslie2     
EL Fellowesnot out11     
RE Inglisrun out4     
R Hughesc Ward b Leslie4     
A Nashb Leslie0     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out)48
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-48
Rugby School bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Rugby School first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE Cobbst Sherwin b Wheeler11     
CFH Lesliec Sherwin b Wheeler25     
FW Capronc and b Clayton34     
CAS Leggattb Shadwell12     
FJ Hirstc Wheeler b Shadwell0     
HW Caveb West4     
WP Wardc Brooks b Clayton5     
EH Kempsonc West b Wheeler7     
RN Bealeyc Shadwell b Wheeler13     
JM Scottb Shadwell4     
SH Walrondnot out1     
Extras(4 b, 1 nb, 1 w)6
Total(all out)122
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-122
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Wheelerb Walrond9     
RO Claytonc Walrond b Bealey23     
OD Brooksnot out0     
WS Shirleynot out0     
J Westdid not bat      
FB Shadwelldid not bat      
+M Sherwindid not bat      
EL Fellowesdid not bat      
RE Inglisdid not bat      
R Hughesdid not bat      
A Nashdid not bat      
Total(2 wickets)32
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?
Rugby School bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive