Maidenhead v Eton College
Other matches in England 1879
VenueMaidenhead on 21st June 1879 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over4
Players12 per side
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn

Eton College inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CT Studdb [unknown]0      
SW Cattleyb Rowley19      
WL Hitchcockst Stanhope b Rowley1      
PJ de Paravicinib Austen-Leigh94      
PS Grenfellb Grenfell10      
MB Hawkeb Austen-Leigh8      
Viscount Throwleyb Austen-Leigh0      
RW Byassb Grenfell11      
EC Bainbridgeb Austen-Leigh8      
AC Cattleynot out63      
CH Polhill-Turnerc Streatfeild b Austen-Leigh3      
AE Newtonnot out13      
Extras(5 b, 4 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)15
Total(10 wickets, declared)245
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-245
Maidenhead bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Maidenhead inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJ Webbec Studd b de Paravicini4      
GS Foljambec Throwley b de Paravicini1      
CR Rowleyc Grenfell b Polhill-Turner31      
+ECS Stanhopeb de Paravicini0      
WH Longc Studd b de Paravicini1      
HR Hewettc Newton b de Paravicini4      
WH Grenfellc Polhill-Turner b de Paravicini0      
R Nicholsonc AC Cattley b Polhill-Turner6      
W Austen-Leighb Polhill-Turner2      
W Nicholsonnot out0      
G Streatfeildb de Paravicini0      
J Websterdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(10 wickets)51
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-51
Eton College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
de Paravicini???7--

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
Which side went in first was not stated. In some papers Eton did, in others Maidenhead.
Source does not make clear which Nicholson dismissed Studd.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive