Brighton College v Marylebone Cricket Club
Other matches in England 1879
VenueBrighton College Ground, Brighton on 31st July 1879 (1-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Aspinallb Moor9      
WB Phillipsb Brealey0      
JW Cressy-Hallb Friend0      
HB Dickinsonb Brealey1      
AMS Erskinec Brealey b Friend7      
M Sherwinb Friend0      
+P Hiltonb Brealey2      
CM Newtonc Fernandez b Cotterill44      
LB Keyserb Cotterill22      
JMT Broadwoodnot out0      
F Steeleb Fernandez0      
Total(all out)98
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-98
Brighton College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Brighton College first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Moorb Sherwin31      
EC Friendc Keyser b Steele24      
RH Dewingc Steele b Sherwin0      
TB Hughesc Sherwin b Steele25      
PH Fernandezc sub b Sherwin2      
K Marshallb Steele0      
CB Woodcombest Hilton b Aspinall18      
WA Soamesb Steele3      
W Marshallc sub b Aspinall3      
GE Cotterillnot out8      
H Brealeyb Steele0      
Total(all out)120
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-120
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
Which side went in first was not stated. In one the M.C.C. and in another account Brighton College did. In another account for M.C.C. Hilton scores 3, the extras are 10 and the total 97.
Source notes that "the Rev. G.E. Cotterill, the once famous Sussex amateur, and now a master at Brighton College assisted and played for the boys. This is a very bad arrangement and detracts much from the interest of the game."





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive