Kathiawar v Bombay
Ranji Trophy 1947/48 (West Zone)
VenueDhrol on 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th February 1948 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBombay won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresMG Bhave, ND Karmarkar
Close of play day 1Bombay (1) 228/5 (Irani 90*, Umrigar 24*)
Close of play day 2Kathiawar (1) 127/2 (Jayantilal Vora 55*, Bhawanishankar 68*)
Close of play day 3Bombay (2) 57/1 (Ibrahim 27*, Mantri 22*)

Bombay first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*KC Ibrahimb Jayantilal Vora79 180   
BR Irani hit wkt b Girdhari109     
+MK Mantrirun out1     
UM Merchantc Balan Pandit b Gandhi20     
MM Dalvib Narottam6     
MN Raijib Jayantilal Vora0     
PR Umrigarc Balan Pandit b Nyalchand41     
YB Palwankarc Girdhari b Narottam44     
VR Amladic Narottam b Jayantilal Vora20     
GM Guardnot out17     
KK Taraporec Bhawanishankar b Girdhari13     
Total(all out, 147 overs)375
Fall of wickets:
1-137 (Ibrahim), 2-139 (Mantri), 3-170 (Merchant), 4-183 (Dalvi), 5-184 (Raiji), 6-267, 7-275, 8-326, 9-339, 10-375 (147 ov)
Kathiawar bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Purshottam15   2530--
Gandhi14   5181--
Jayantilal Vora30   6733--
Narottam26   5542--
Nyalchand33   8641--
Girdhari24   4792--
Kesari5   390--

Kathiawar first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Jayantilal Voralbw b Umrigar72     
+M Balan Panditc Mantri b Guard0     
KS Harpal Deob Guard0     
Bhawanishankarc and b Umrigar129 170242 
*SB Gandhib Tarapore27     
SK Girdharic Mantri b Tarapore18     
Purshottamc Raiji b Tarapore29     
D Narottamc Tarapore b Raiji13     
M Acharyab Umrigar0     
KP Kesarib Tarapore12     
S Nyalchandnot out2     
Total(all out, 100.2 overs)331
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-27, 3-203, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-331 (100.2 ov)
Bombay bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Guard19   6622--
Umrigar23   9513--
Amladi9   2360--
Irani6   2150--
Raiji12   1381--

Bombay second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*KC Ibrahimc Balan Pandit b Girdhari89     
BR Iranic Bhawanishankar b Purshottam5     
+MK Mantric Harpal Deo b Girdhari48     
UM Merchantc Girdhari b Jayantilal Vora36     
MN Raijic Purshottam b Nyalchand22     
MM Dalvinot out38     
PR Umrigarnot out1     
YB Palwankardid not bat      
VR Amladidid not bat      
GM Guarddid not bat      
KK Taraporedid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, declared, 98 overs)254
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?
Kathiawar bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Purshottam15   4471--
Jayantilal Vora20   6431--
Narottam17   2640--
Nyalchand22   13241--
Girdhari24   3612--

Kathiawar second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Jayantilal Vorac and b Raiji66     
+M Balan Panditc sub b Amladi7     
KP Kesarinot out28     
Bhawanishankarnot out5     
KS Harpal Deodid not bat      
*SB Gandhidid not bat      
SK Girdharidid not bat      
Purshottamdid not bat      
D Narottamdid not bat      
M Acharyadid not bat      
S Nyalchanddid not bat      
Total(2 wickets, 26 overs)106
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?
Bombay bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Guard7   2130--
Umrigar3   0230--
Amladi7   1191--
Irani4   0300--
Raiji3   071--
Palwankar2   0140--

--> Bombay won on first innings
--> BR Irani (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in Ranji Trophy matches
--> BR Irani (1) passed his previous highest score of 67 in first-class matches
--> Jayantilal Vora (1) passed his previous highest score of 46 in first-class matches
--> Jayantilal Vora (1) passed his previous highest score of 46 in Ranji Trophy matches
--> Bhawanishankar (1) passed his previous highest score of 82 in first-class matches
--> Bhawanishankar (1) passed his previous highest score of 82 in Ranji Trophy matches
--> KC Ibrahim (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 53
--> MN Raiji reached 50 wickets in Ranji Trophy matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Kathiawar second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive