Punjab v Railways
Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 1957/58 (North Zone play-off)
VenueAitchison College Ground, Lahore on 18th, 19th, 20th February 1958 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossRailways won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsPunjab 2; Railways 0
UmpiresMunawwar Hussain, Nazar Mohammad
Close of play day 1Railways (1) 18/0 (Ijaz Anwar 9*, Sagheer Mirza 9*)
Close of play day 2Railways (2) 130/4 (Shujauddin Butt 30*, Gulzar Mir 9*)

Punjab first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+Shakoor Ahmed hit wkt b Ghafoor Butt80      
Iftikhar Bukharic Amin Ashraf b Ghafoor Butt9      
Matin Akhtarc Shujauddin Butt b Ghafoor Butt61      
Khalid Aziz hit wkt b Ghafoor Butt13      
Agha Saadat Alib Ghafoor Butt0      
*Gul Mohammadlbw b Qayyum Butt71      
Humayun Zamanst Amin Ashraf b Mohammad Sharif4      
Fazal-ur-Rehmanlbw b Qayyum Butt12      
Sajid Alic Shujauddin Butt b Mohammad Sharif1      
Ehsan Elahinot out10      
Khalid Qureshirun out1      
Total(all out, 82 overs)276
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-148, 3-166, 4-166, 5-185, 6-216, 7-263, 8-264, 9-270, 10-276 (82 ov)
Railways bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghafoor Butt29   41005--
Shaukat Ali12   2450--
Qayyum Butt4   1152--
Iftikhar Masood15   4470--
Mohammad Sharif22   6552--

Railways first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Ijaz Anwarlbw b Sajid Ali9      
Sagheer Mirzab Khalid Qureshi23      
Shujauddin Buttb Sajid Ali0      
+Amin Ashraflbw b Humayun Zaman14      
Gulzar Mirb Khalid Qureshi1      
*Masood Salahuddinc and b Humayun Zaman0      
Ghafoor Buttc Iftikhar Bukhari b Khalid Qureshi3      
Mohammad Sharifc Sajid Ali b Humayun Zaman34      
Shaukat Alib Sajid Ali7      
Qayyum Buttc Agha Saadat Ali b Sajid Ali2      
Iftikhar Masoodnot out12      
Total(all out, 50 overs)117
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-20, 3-44, 4-46, 5-47, 6-49, 7-52, 8-65, 9-73, 10-117 (50 ov)
Punjab bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sajid Ali16   3374--
Khalid Qureshi14   4263--
Humayun Zaman12   5193--
Ehsan Elahi7   1180--
Fazal-ur-Rehman1   050--

Railways second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
Ijaz Anwarb Humayun Zaman20      
Sagheer Mirzac Shakoor Ahmed b Humayun Zaman36      
+Amin Ashrafc Matin Akhtar b Sajid Ali8      
Mohammad Sharifc Khalid Aziz b Fazal-ur-Rehman15      
Shujauddin Buttb Matin Akhtar63      
Gulzar Mirrun out13      
*Masood Salahuddinst Shakoor Ahmed b Fazal-ur-Rehman42      
Ghafoor Buttc Khalid Qureshi b Fazal-ur-Rehman0      
Shaukat Alic Sajid Ali b Ehsan Elahi52      
Iftikhar Masoodb Humayun Zaman41      
Qayyum Buttnot out0      
Total(all out, 95.3 overs)317
Fall of wickets:
1-47, 2-68, 3-72, 4-94, 5-139, 6-221, 7-221, 8-221, 9-317, 10-317 (95.3 ov)
Punjab bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sajid Ali18   3651--
Khalid Qureshi20   5490--
Humayun Zaman18   1583--
Ehsan Elahi6.31191--
Fazal-ur-Rehman25   4693--
Gul Mohammad2   0120--
Matin Akhtar6   3181--

Punjab second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+Shakoor Ahmedc Ijaz Anwar b Ghafoor Butt18      
Khalid Azizc Ijaz Anwar b Qayyum Butt3      
Iftikhar Bukharinot out23      
Matin Akhtarc Iftikhar Masood b Shaukat Ali13      
Agha Saadat Alib Shaukat Ali0      
*Gul Mohammadc Shujauddin Butt b Mohammad Sharif3      
Humayun Zamannot out9      
Fazal-ur-Rehmandid not bat      
Sajid Alidid not bat      
Ehsan Elahidid not bat      
Khalid Qureshidid not bat      
Total(5 wickets, 33 overs)70
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-38, 3-48, 4-53, 5-58
Railways bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghafoor Butt12   5261--
Shaukat Ali12   5212--
Qayyum Butt3   1111--
Iftikhar Masood1   020--
Mohammad Sharif4   191--
Shujauddin Butt1   100--

--> Shakoor Ahmed (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> Matin Akhtar (1) passed his previous highest score of 27 in first-class matches
--> Gul Mohammad (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> Ehsan Elahi (1) equalled his previous highest score of 10 in first-class matches
--> Mohammad Sharif made his debut in first-class matches
--> Qayyum Butt made his debut in first-class matches
--> Gulzar Mir made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> Masood Salahuddin (2) passed his previous highest score of 39 in first-class matches
--> Masood Salahuddin (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 34
--> Qayyum Butt made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> Iftikhar Masood (2) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> Iftikhar Bukhari (2) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> Shaukat Ali made his debut for Railways in first-class matches
--> Humayun Zaman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Railways first innings (previous best was 2-18)

Source: First-Class Cricket in Pakistan by Abid Ali Kazi





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive