Victoria v Western Australia
Sheffield Shield 1960/61
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 23rd, 24th, 26th December 1960 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to field
ResultWestern Australia won by 10 wickets
PointsVictoria 0; Western Australia 10
UmpiresJF Sheehan, WJ Smyth
Close of play day 1Western Australia (1) 292/6 (Wishart 41*, Hoare 3*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 149 all out

Western Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RB Simpsonc Maddocks b Meckiff106     
HK Joyntc Maddocks b Connolly14     
MT Vernonc Gaunt b Connolly32     
BK Shepherdc Kline b Gaunt67     
AO Lodgec Maddocks b Kline38     
PW Wishartlbw b Potter91     
GD McKenziec Huntington b Kline5     
KN Slaterlbw b Crompton1     
DE Hoareb Kline10     
+BL Bugginsrun out (Huntington)6     
HG Bevannot out1     
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)13
Total(all out, 458 minutes, 98.2 overs)384
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Joynt), 2-94 (Vernon), 3-222 (Shepherd), 4-222 (Simpson), 5-284 (McKenzie), 6-285 (Slater), 7-337 (Hoare), 8-367 (Lodge), 9-376 (Wishart), 10-384 (Buggins, 98.2 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Meckiff24   58611-
Gaunt19   5661-2
Lawry1   040--
Connolly22   4822--
Potter5   0281--
Crompton5   0311--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Lawryb Hoare0     
RW Furlongc and b Simpson51     
JH Shawc Simpson b McKenzie18     
CN Cromptonlbw b McKenzie19     
J Potterc sub (TA Bidstrup) b Slater30     
IR Huntingtonst Buggins b Simpson9     
*+LV Maddocksst Buggins b Slater6     
I Meckiffc Shepherd b Slater0     
LF Klinec sub (TA Bidstrup) b Simpson2     
RA Gauntnot out10     
AN Connollyb Simpson2     
Extras(1 lb, 1 nb)2
Total(all out, 186 minutes, 39.6 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Lawry), 2-51 (Shaw), 3-79 (Crompton), 4-111 (Furlong), 5-129 (Huntington), 6-135 (Maddocks), 7-135 (Meckiff), 8-137 (Kline), 9-139 (Potter), 10-149 (Connolly, 39.6 ov)
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hoare6   2291--
Bevan5   0260-1
McKenzie9   0512--
Slater7   3103--

Victoria second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Lawryst Buggins b Simpson44     
RW Furlonglbw b Hoare22     
J Potterc Buggins b Simpson28     
IR Huntingtonlbw b Slater1     
JH Shaw hit wkt b Hoare56     
CN Cromptonb Slater5     
*+LV Maddocksb Simpson34     
LF Klinec Buggins b Slater9     
I Meckifflbw b Bevan13     
RA Gauntc Lodge b Hoare14     
AN Connollynot out0     
Extras(3 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 287 minutes, 64.5 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Furlong), 2-84 (Potter), 3-85 (Huntington), 4-117 (Lawry), 5-136 (Crompton), 6-170 (Shaw), 7-198 (Kline), 8-210 (Maddocks), 9-230 (Meckiff), 10-236 (Gaunt, 64.5 ov)
Western Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bevan6   0341--
Slater21   5603-1
McKenzie9   1290--
Simpson19   2563--
Joynt1   030--

Western Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD McKenzienot out4     
+BL Bugginsnot out0     
*RB Simpsondid not bat      
HK Joyntdid not bat      
MT Vernondid not bat      
BK Shepherddid not bat      
AO Lodgedid not bat      
PW Wishartdid not bat      
KN Slaterdid not bat      
DE Hoaredid not bat      
HG Bevandid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 2 minutes, 0.3 overs)4
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> BK Shepherd (1) passed 2000 runs in Sheffield Shield matches when he reached 23
--> PW Wishart (1) passed his previous highest score of 89 in first-class matches
--> PW Wishart (1) passed his previous highest score of 89 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> RW Furlong (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 28
--> RB Simpson reached 50 wickets in Sheffield Shield matches when he dismissed WM Lawry, his 2nd wicket in the Victoria second innings
--> AO Lodge retired ill in the Western Australia first innings having scored 20 (team score 264/4) - he returned when the score was 337/7

12th Men: KH Eastwood (Vic) and TA Bidstrup (WA)
Crowds: 5314, 6776, 3083. Total: 15,173. Receipts: 1,942 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive