Glamorgan v Hampshire
County Championship 1961
VenueSt Helen's, Swansea on 3rd, 5th, 6th June 1961 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 73 runs
PointsGlamorgan 0; Hampshire 14 (Batting 2)
UmpiresWH Copson, JH Parks
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 21/1 (Hedges 11*, DGL Evans 0*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 29/1 (Marshall 28*, Horton 1*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RE Marshallc Shepherd b Wheatley23      
JR Grayc Slade b Shepherd76      
H Hortonc Walker b JB Evans0      
DA Livingstonec DGL Evans b Shepherd27      
PJ Sainsburynot out125      
*ACD Ingleby-Mackenziec Wheatley b Shepherd36      
+L Harrisonlbw b Wheatley32      
AR Wassellc Rees b JB Evans0      
D Shackletonc DGL Evans b Wheatley22      
DW Whitec JB Evans b Wheatley2      
MD Burdendid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(9 wickets, declared, 116.5 overs)351
Fall of wickets:
1-39, 2-44, 3-93, 4-163, 5-225, 6-281, 7-282, 8-334, 9-351 (116.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JB Evans27   1902--
Walker6   0210--
Shepherd38   10913--
McConnon14   2490--
Pressdee6   2220--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesc Horton b Shackleton5      
B Hedgesc Wassell b Gray59      
+DGL Evansc Sainsbury b Shackleton8      
AHM Reeslbw b White31      
WD Sladeb Shackleton10      
JS Pressdeenot out103      
PM Walkerc sub b Wassell8      
JE McConnonc Ingleby-Mackenzie b Shackleton20      
JB Evansb Shackleton0      
*OS Wheatleyc Wassell b White3      
DJ Shepherdc Marshall b Shackleton6      
Extras(4 b, 2 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 126.2 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-35, 3-89, 4-117, 5-139, 6-155, 7-216, 8-216, 9-225, 10-260 (126.2 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
White39   12922--
Gray13   4311--
Burden14   6330--
Sainsbury5   320--
Wassell11   951--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RE Marshallc DGL Evans b Wheatley48      
JR Graylbw b Wheatley0      
H Hortonc Pressdee b Walker41      
DA Livingstonec DGL Evans b Walker6      
PJ Sainsburynot out30      
*ACD Ingleby-Mackenzielbw b Shepherd29      
AR Wassellnot out8      
+L Harrisondid not bat      
D Shackletondid not bat      
DW Whitedid not bat      
MD Burdendid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(5 wickets, declared, 47 overs)165
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-55, 3-94, 4-97, 5-140
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JB Evans10   1390--
Wheatley9   3432--
Walker14   2432--
Shepherd5   291--
Slade9   4280--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesc Livingstone b Gray54      
B Hedgesrun out46      
AHM Reesc Ingleby-Mackenzie b Gray8      
WD Sladenot out31      
JS Pressdeeb Wassell20      
PM Walkerb Wassell1      
JE McConnonc and b Wassell5      
DJ Shepherdrun out8      
JB Evansc Ingleby-Mackenzie b Wassell1      
+DGL Evansc Sainsbury b Gray0      
*OS Wheatleyc Ingleby-Mackenzie b Gray0      
Extras(9 lb)9
Total(all out, 54 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-102, 2-113, 3-117, 4-142, 5-148, 6-154, 7-177, 8-178, 9-183, 10-183 (54 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shackleton19   3460--
White10   1510--
Gray17   1554--
Wassell8   4224--

--> RE Marshall (1) passed 11000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 17
--> PJ Sainsbury (1) passed his previous highest score of 105 in County Championship matches
--> PJ Sainsbury (1) passed his previous highest score of 105 in first-class matches
--> WD Slade made his debut in County Championship matches
--> WD Slade made his debut in first-class matches
--> DA Livingstone (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> JS Pressdee (2) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> AR Wassell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Glamorgan second innings (previous best was 4-50)
--> AR Wassell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Glamorgan second innings (previous best was 4-74)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive