Leicestershire v Surrey
County Championship 1962
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 30th, 31st May, 1st June 1962 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 6 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 0; Surrey 14 (Batting 2)
UmpiresRSM Lay, AEG Rhodes
ScorersFN Bloxsom (Leicestershire), A Sandham (Surrey)
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 126 all out
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 233/7 (Munden 59*, Mitten 4*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamrun out16     
HD Birdc and b Loader8     
*D Kirbyb Loader1     
S Jayasingheb Harman38     
LR Gardnerc and b Gibson0     
J van Gelovenc Long b Harman1     
PA Mundenc Long b Harman7     
J Birkenshawb Loader31     
+J Mittenb Loader10     
PN Broughtonnot out5     
BS Boshierb Loader0     
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 54.5 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-19, 3-44, 4-44, 5-47, 6-67, 7-76, 8-112, 9-119, 10-119 (54.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sydenham4   180--
Gibson10   4201--
Harman17   6473--
Tindall7   4120--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MJ Stewartc Mitten b Broughton5     
JH Edrichc Mitten b Broughton17     
ABD Parsonslbw b Broughton0     
MD Willettc Jayasinghe b Boshier25     
B Constableb Broughton12     
RAE Tindallb van Geloven8     
D Gibsonc Mitten b Broughton24     
+A Longlbw b Boshier6     
R Harmannot out15     
PJ Loaderc van Geloven b Boshier5     
DAD Sydenhamb van Geloven5     
Extras(4 lb)4
Total(all out, 52.5 overs)126
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-5, 3-35, 4-59, 5-59, 6-77, 7-89, 8-101, 9-106, 10-126 (52.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boshier21   3573--
Broughton25   6565--
Birkenshaw2   150--
van Geloven4.5242--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Hallamc Long b Gibson24     
HD Birdb Loader5     
*D Kirbyb Loader1     
S Jayasinghec Long b Tindall61     
LR Gardnerb Sydenham1     
J van Gelovenc Tindall b Gibson21     
PA Mundennot out69     
J Birkenshawb Tindall45     
+J Mittenrun out5     
PN Broughtonb Gibson4     
BS Boshierb Sydenham3     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 2 w)12
Total(all out, 123 overs)251
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-20, 3-36, 4-37, 5-98, 6-130, 7-221, 8-235, 9-242, 10-251 (123 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Loader36   11572--
Sydenham30   6762--
Gibson26   8423--
Harman8   4160--
Tindall19   7372--
Willett4   0110--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MJ Stewartb Boshier1     
JH Edrichb Jayasinghe123     
ABD Parsonsb Broughton90     
MD Willettc Hallam b Broughton14     
B Constablenot out6     
RAE Tindallnot out0     
D Gibsondid not bat      
+A Longdid not bat      
R Harmandid not bat      
PJ Loaderdid not bat      
DAD Sydenhamdid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 5 lb)12
Total(4 wickets, 77.1 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-209, 3-233, 4-240
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Boshier17   5481--
Broughton23   4622--
Birkenshaw8   3210--
van Geloven18   2590--
Jayasinghe2   0161--

--> LR Gardner made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> LR Gardner made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> D Gibson (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> R Harman (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> R Harman (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in County Championship matches
--> J van Geloven (2) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> PA Munden (2) passed his previous highest score of 59 in first-class matches
--> PA Munden (2) passed his previous highest score of 59 in County Championship matches
--> R Harman achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Leicestershire first innings (previous best was 2-46)
--> PN Broughton reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Surrey first innings
--> BS Boshier reached 400 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Surrey first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive