West Indies v Australia
Australia in West Indies 1964/65 (3rd Test)
VenueBourda, Georgetown on 14th, 15th, 17th, 19th, 20th April 1965 (6-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWest Indies won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWest Indies won by 212 runs
UmpiresGE Gomez, HBD Jordan
Close of play day 1West Indies (1) 201/2 (Kanhai 88*, Butcher 47*)
Close of play day 2Australia (1) 92/4 (O'Neill 10*, Booth 7*)
Close of play day 3West Indies (2) 69/3 (Hunte 23*, Nurse 6*)
Close of play day 4Australia (2) 144/9 (McKenzie 6*, Mayne 0*)

West Indies first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CC Huntec McKenzie b Philpott31      
BA Davisb Hawke28      
RB Kanhaib Hawke89   1  
BF Butcherrun out49      
SM Nursec and b Hawke42      
*GS Sobersc Grout b Hawke45      
JS Solomonc Grout b Hawke0  --  
+JL Hendriksnot out31   1  
WW Hallc Mayne b Hawke7      
CC Griffithlbw b O'Neill19      
LR Gibbsb O'Neill2  --  
Extras(7 b, 1 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 107.2 overs)355
Fall of wickets:
1-56 (Davis), 2-68 (Hunte), 3-203 (Kanhai), 4-210 (Butcher), 5-290 (Nurse), 6-290 (Solomon), 7-297 (Sobers), 8-309 (Hall), 9-353 (Griffith), 10-355 (Gibbs, 107.2 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie23   2920--
Hawke32   8726--
Mayne12   1540--
Philpott26   5751--
Simpson7   1230--
Cowper1   010--

Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RB Simpsonb Sobers7      
WM Lawryrun out20      
RM Cowperc Hendriks b Gibbs41      
NCL O'Neillb Griffith27      
PI Philpottc Butcher b Sobers5      
BC Boothc Sobers b Gibbs37      
G Thomasb Hall8      
NJN Hawkec Sobers b Hall0  --  
+ATW Groutrun out19      
GD McKenzienot out3  --  
LC Mayneb Gibbs5      
Extras(1 lb, 6 nb)7
Total(all out, 64.5 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-11 (Simpson), 2-68 (Cowper), 3-71 (Lawry), 4-85 (Philpott), 5-116 (O'Neill), 6-127 (Thomas), 7-130 (Hawke), 8-170 (Booth), 9-171 (Grout), 10-179 (Mayne, 64.5 ov)
West Indies bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall13   2432--
Sobers12   2382--
Griffith14   2401--

West Indies second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CC Huntec Grout b Hawke38      
BA Davisb McKenzie17      
RB Kanhaib McKenzie0  --  
BF Butcherb Hawke18      
SM Nursest Grout b Philpott6      
*GS Sobersc Simpson b Philpott42      
JS Solomonc Simpson b Philpott17      
+JL Hendriksc Grout b Hawke2  --  
WW Hallnot out20      
CC Griffithc Thomas b Philpott13      
LR Gibbsb Hawke1  --  
Extras(3 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 77.4 overs)180
Fall of wickets:
1-31 (Davis), 2-31 (Kanhai), 3-62 (Butcher), 4-69 (Nurse), 5-125 (Hunte), 6-129 (Sobers), 7-146 (Hendriks), 8-146 (Solomon), 9-176 (Griffith), 10-180 (Gibbs, 77.4 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie21   7532--
Simpson17   9190--
Mayne2   160--
Philpott16   3494--
O'Neill1   040--

Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RB Simpsonb Griffith23      
WM Lawryb Gibbs22      
RM Cowperst Hendriks b Gibbs30      
NCL O'Neillc Sobers b Gibbs16      
BC Boothc Hendriks b Gibbs0  --  
G Thomasst Hendriks b Solomon5      
NJN Hawkec Hendriks b Sobers14      
PI Philpottc Sobers b Gibbs6      
+ATW Groutb Sobers8      
GD McKenzieb Gibbs6      
LC Maynenot out0  --  
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 6 nb)14
Total(all out, 58.2 overs)144
Fall of wickets:
1-31 (Simpson), 2-88 (Lawry), 3-91 (Cowper), 4-104 (O'Neill), 5-109 (Booth), 6-115 (Thomas), 7-130 (Hawke), 8-130 (Philpott), 9-144 (Grout), 10-144 (McKenzie, 58.2 ov)
West Indies bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hall2   110--
Griffith6   1301--
Sobers19   7392--
Solomon9   2311--

--> The match was scheduled for six days but completed in five.
--> CC Griffith (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in Test matches
--> CC Hunte (2) passed 2500 runs in Test matches when he reached 12
--> RB Simpson (2) passed 16000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> PI Philpott achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches in the West Indies second innings (previous best was 4-109)
--> LR Gibbs reached 100 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed WM Lawry, his 1st wicket in the Australia second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive