Marylebone Cricket Club v Cambridge University
University Match 1887
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 27th, 28th, 29th June 1887 (3-day match)
Balls per over4
Players12 per side
TossCambridge University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 10 wickets
UmpiresRO Clayton, G Hay
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 169/4 (MP Lucas 47*, Thornton 26*)
Close of play day 2Cambridge University (2) 294 all out

Cambridge University first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CD Buxtonb Barnes9     
*F Marchantb Barnes45     
F Thomasb Barnes5     
AM Suttheryb Barnes9     
FGJ Fordc Pougher b Barnes0     
E Crawleylbw b Grace16     
WC Bridgemanlbw b Grace21     
L Martineaunot out22     
FM Meyrick-Jonesb Grace0     
+LA Orfordb Pougher2     
H Haleb Pougher0     
C Toppinb Pougher0     
Extras(7 b, 7 lb)14
Total(all out, 108.3 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-41, 3-64, 4-64, 5-79, 6-99, 7-122, 8-124, 9-143, 10-143, 11-143 (108.3 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes47   28555--
Attewell12   4240--
Grace29   18193--
Webbe7   4130--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WG Gracelbw b Ford31     
AJ Webbec Ford b Martineau33     
AP Lucasb Ford12     
MP Lucasb Ford50     
W Barnesb Toppin11     
RT Thorntonc Orford b Ford26     
CW Wrightb Hale0     
W Attewellc Ford b Hale0     
AH Studdb Ford32     
J Eyrec Thomas b Ford9     
FT Welmanb Toppin3     
AD Poughernot out32     
Extras(15 b, 3 lb, 3 w)21
Total(all out, 166.2 overs)260
Fall of wickets:
1-68, 2-70, 3-103, 4-122, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-172, 9-194, 10-200, 11-260 (166.2 ov)
Cambridge University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hale34   13542--
Sutthery27   9440--
Martineau16   62913-
Toppin26   3462--
Buxton20   1490--

Cambridge University second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*F Marchantlbw b Grace36     
L Martineauc Grace b Barnes16     
F Thomasc Welman b Webbe48     
AM Suttheryc AP Lucas b Grace72     
CD Buxtonc and b Attewell41     
WC Bridgemanlbw b Grace12     
FGJ Fordb Attewell26     
E Crawleynot out19     
FM Meyrick-Joneslbw b Attewell0     
+LA Orfordb Barnes7     
H Haleb Attewell3     
C Toppinc and b Pougher4     
Extras(5 b, 5 lb)10
Total(all out, 149.2 overs)294
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-76, 3-137, 4-184, 5-214, 6-250, 7-265, 8-?, 9-?, 10-?, 11-294 (149.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes38   17852--
Attewell41   17784--
Grace27   12473--
Webbe12   6111--
AP Lucas8   1150--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WG Gracenot out116     
AJ Webbec Ford b Sutthery22     
AP Lucasnot out29     
MP Lucasdid not bat      
W Barnesdid not bat      
RT Thorntondid not bat      
CW Wrightdid not bat      
W Attewelldid not bat      
AH Studddid not bat      
J Eyredid not bat      
FT Welmandid not bat      
AD Pougherdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 5 lb)11
Total(1 wicket, 100.3 overs)178
Fall of wickets:
1-77 (Webbe)
Cambridge University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hale15   7220--
Sutthery18   12211--
Martineau6   2170--
Toppin12   1330--
Buxton11   6110--
Marchant7   3140--

--> Day 3 Lunch: Marylebone Cricket Club (2) ?/? (Grace 116*, [unknown] ?*)
--> J Eyre made his debut in first-class matches
--> J Eyre made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> F Marchant (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 42
--> AD Pougher (1) passed his previous highest score of 25 in first-class matches
--> AM Sutthery (2) equalled his previous highest score of 72 in first-class matches
--> WG Grace (2) passed 29500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> AD Pougher completed a hat-trick in the Cambridge University first innings (Orford, Hale, Toppin)
--> FGJ Ford achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings (previous best was 4-66)
--> FGJ Ford achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive