Glamorgan v Leicestershire
County Championship 1971
VenueSophia Gardens, Cardiff on 19th, 21st, 22nd June 1971 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 161 runs
PointsGlamorgan 4 (Bowling 4); Leicestershire 16 (Batting 1, Bowling 5)
UmpiresCS Elliott, CG Pepper
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 27/2 (Lyons 15*, Hill 0*; 17 overs)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 86/3 (Balderstone 25*, Davison 18*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc EW Jones b Williams18     
JF Steelec Lyons b Davies69     
BJ Boothc A Jones b Shepherd11     
CC Inmanb Cordle3     
BF Davisonc A Jones b Williams8     
JC Balderstonec Hopkins b Nash28     
*+RW Tolchardlbw b Shepherd5     
PM Stringerb Shepherd0     
J Birkenshawnot out35     
GD McKenziec EW Jones b Davies2     
CT Spencerc EW Jones b Davies0     
Extras(6 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 88.5 overs)187
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-55, 3-58, 4-95, 5-132, 6-141, 7-141, 8-183, 9-187, 10-187 (88.5 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash22   6441--
Williams16   4402--
Shepherd28   10453--
Cordle14   2281--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesc Dudleston b McKenzie0     
KJ Lyonsb McKenzie18     
JA Hopkinsc Tolchard b McKenzie8     
LW Hillc Booth b Balderstone38     
+EW Jonesc and b Steele16     
G Richardsc Tolchard b McKenzie33     
EA Cordleb McKenzie1     
MA Nashc Tolchard b McKenzie12     
*DJ Shepherdc Stringer b Birkenshaw19     
DL Williamsb Birkenshaw4     
TC Daviesnot out0     
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 80.2 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-25, 3-35, 4-60, 5-110, 6-117, 7-124, 8-143, 9-156, 10-157 (80.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie28   15416--
Spencer5   1110--
Stringer3   230--
Steele6   1191--
Balderstone10   2211--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Nash b Shepherd12     
JF Steeleb Davies15     
JC Balderstonest EW Jones b Davies27     
CC Inmanc A Jones b Shepherd14     
BF Davisonb Williams32     
BJ Boothb Nash21     
*+RW Tolchardc A Jones b Nash12     
J Birkenshawc Richards b Shepherd3     
GD McKenziec Richards b Shepherd7     
PM Stringerc EW Jones b Shepherd11     
CT Spencernot out12     
Extras(5 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(all out, 71.3 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-39, 3-60, 4-93, 5-104, 6-140, 7-143, 8-143, 9-157, 10-174 (71.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash13   4312--
Williams14   3281--
Davies18   3522--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesc Steele b McKenzie3     
KJ Lyonsc Balderstone b McKenzie2     
JA Hopkinsc Dudleston b McKenzie3     
LW Hillc Davison b Birkenshaw10     
+EW Jonesc Booth b Birkenshaw0     
G Richardsc Birkenshaw b Balderstone3     
EA Cordleb Balderstone8     
MA Nashb Balderstone0     
*DJ Shepherdnot out7     
DL Williamsc Steele b Birkenshaw1     
TC Daviesc Dudleston b Balderstone0     
Extras(5 b, 1 lb)6
Total(all out, 36.5 overs)43
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-5, 3-8, 4-9, 5-22, 6-26, 7-26, 8-31, 9-40, 10-43 (36.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie9   843--
Spencer3   140--
Birkenshaw15   9153--

--> B Dudleston (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> JF Steele (1) passed his previous highest score of 60 in first-class matches
--> JF Steele (1) passed his previous highest score of 60 in County Championship matches
--> JF Steele (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> JC Balderstone (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> J Birkenshaw (1) passed 7500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 6
--> G Richards (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in County Championship matches
--> G Richards (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in first-class matches
--> TC Davies made his debut in first-class matches
--> TC Davies made his debut in County Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive