Leicestershire v Surrey
County Championship 1971
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 24th, 26th, 27th July 1971 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 13 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Surrey 7 (Batting 5, Bowling 2)
UmpiresR Aspinall, EJ Rowe
Close of play day 1Surrey (1) 332/7 (Younis Ahmed 138*, Pocock 29*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (2) 11/1 (Edwards 5*, Owen-Thomas 6*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MJ Stewartc Dudleston b Spencer16     
MJ Edwardsrun out21     
DR Owen-Thomasc Davison b Matthews1     
Younis Ahmednot out138     
GRJ Roopec Tolchard b Matthews109     
SJ Storeyc Tolchard b Matthews0     
Intikhab Alamc Inman b Birkenshaw1     
+A Longlbw b Matthews5     
PI Pococknot out29     
GG Arnolddid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 9 nb)12
Total(7 wickets, declared, 97 overs)332
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-37, 3-45, 4-271, 5-273, 6-274, 7-292
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie26   3740--
Matthews19   3554--
Spencer21   1791--
Birkenshaw13   0551--
Davison12   4410--
Steele6   2160--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonb Intikhab Alam46     
JF Steelelbw b Intikhab Alam30     
MEJC Normanc Long b Arnold8     
CC Inmanc Owen-Thomas b Intikhab Alam3     
BF Davisonc Stewart b Intikhab Alam0     
*+RW Tolchardnot out105     
BJ Boothnot out130     
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
GD McKenziedid not bat      
CT Spencerdid not bat      
RB Matthewsdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 4 nb)10
Total(5 wickets, declared, 94 overs)332
Fall of wickets:
1-70, 2-87, 3-91, 4-91, 5-95
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold25   3861--
Jackman13   1680--
Pocock16   2590--
Storey13   4180--
Intikhab Alam27   2914--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MJ Stewartc Tolchard b McKenzie0     
MJ Edwardsc Davison b Matthews15     
DR Owen-Thomasc Davison b McKenzie11     
Younis Ahmedc Dudleston b Matthews6     
GRJ Roopenot out103     
SJ Storeyc Tolchard b Birkenshaw16     
Intikhab Alamc Norman b Birkenshaw26     
+A Longc Spencer b Birkenshaw4     
PI Pocockc and b Steele5     
GG Arnoldb Birkenshaw1     
RD Jackmannot out7     
Extras(4 nb)4
Total(9 wickets, declared, 76.2 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-26, 3-26, 4-32, 5-79, 6-143, 7-151, 8-178, 9-181
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie14   4272--
Matthews11   2372--
Spencer3   060--
Steele22   4641--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Jackman b Pocock32     
JF Steelec and b Arnold0     
MEJC Normanb Intikhab Alam44     
CC Inmanb Intikhab Alam42     
BF Davisonc Long b Arnold35     
*+RW Tolchardc Younis Ahmed b Arnold16     
BJ Boothc Pocock b Arnold22     
J Birkenshawrun out3     
GD McKenzienot out3     
CT Spencerdid not bat      
RB Matthewsdid not bat      
Extras(1 w)1
Total(8 wickets, 41 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-62, 3-107, 4-148, 5-154, 6-189, 7-194, 8-198 (41 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold13   0534--
Jackman4   0180--
Pocock8   0461--
Intikhab Alam16   1802--

--> Leicestershire gained extra points when the scores were level in a drawn match
--> RB Matthews made his debut in County Championship matches
--> Younis Ahmed (1) passed his previous highest score of 127 in County Championship matches
--> Younis Ahmed (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 83
--> RW Tolchard (1) passed his previous highest score of 104 in County Championship matches
--> BJ Booth (1) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 72
--> CC Inman (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 17
--> RB Matthews achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Surrey first innings (previous best was 1-58)
--> GD McKenzie reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Surrey second innings
--> GG Arnold reached 500 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive