Warwickshire v Kent
County Championship 1971
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 24th, 26th, 27th July 1971 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 7 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 17 (Batting 2, Bowling 5); Kent 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresA Jepson, H Yarnold
Close of play day 1Warwickshire (1) 66/2 (Abberley 26*, MJK Smith 34*; 29.1 overs)
Close of play day 2Kent (2) 42/1 (Denness 23*, Underwood 0*)

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MH Dennessb McVicker5      
+D Nichollsb McVicker11      
GW Johnsonb McVicker29      
AGE Ealhamb Blenkiron45      
Asif Iqbalc and b Gibbs50      
JN Shepherdc AC Smith b Blenkiron36      
RA Woolmerb Gibbs3      
SE Learyc AC Smith b McVicker10      
DL Underwoodc AC Smith b Gibbs15      
RB Elmsnot out1      
JN Grahamc Whitehouse b Gibbs0      
Extras(2 lb, 2 nb)4
Total(all out, 66.4 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-23, 3-71, 4-123, 5-150, 6-153, 7-172, 8-207, 9-209, 10-209 (66.4 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McVicker22   3694--
Blenkiron21   3742--
Khalid Ibadulla9   1320--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Whitehouseb Elms1      
JA Jamesonc Shepherd b Elms2      
RN Abberleyc Woolmer b Underwood66      
MJK Smithc Nicholls b Graham122      
GS Warnerb Elms0      
EE Hemmingsc Graham b Underwood24      
Khalid Ibadullac Johnson b Elms24      
NM McVickerb Graham10      
W Blenkironb Underwood29      
*+AC Smithnot out15      
LR Gibbsb Asif Iqbal0      
Extras(9 b, 3 lb, 7 nb, 3 w)22
Total(all out, 116.4 overs)315
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-3, 3-159, 4-160, 5-205, 6-243, 7-264, 8-278, 9-306, 10-315 (116.4 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Graham37   9872--
Elms30   3844--
Shepherd18   5410--
Woolmer8   2180--
Underwood20   8553--
Johnson1   020--
Asif Iqbal2.4061--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MH Dennessc Jameson b Gibbs54      
+D Nichollsb McVicker10      
DL Underwoodc Warner b McVicker6      
GW Johnsonc AC Smith b McVicker13      
AGE Ealhamc Blenkiron b Gibbs15      
Asif Iqbalc AC Smith b Khalid Ibadulla19      
JN Shepherdb McVicker25      
RA Woolmerc Jameson b Gibbs20      
SE Learyc Abberley b Gibbs2      
RB Elmsnot out5      
JN Grahamc Hemmings b Gibbs0      
Extras(8 b, 5 lb, 4 nb)17
Total(all out, 68.4 overs)186
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-46, 3-66, 4-87, 5-124, 6-128, 7-177, 8-177, 9-184, 10-186 (68.4 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McVicker23   7394--
Blenkiron13   1460--
Khalid Ibadulla6   3131--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Whitehouseb Shepherd13      
JA Jamesonc Denness b Shepherd22      
RN Abberleyc Shepherd b Underwood3      
MJK Smithnot out26      
GS Warnernot out11      
EE Hemmingsdid not bat      
Khalid Ibadulladid not bat      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
W Blenkirondid not bat      
*+AC Smithdid not bat      
LR Gibbsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(3 wickets, 23.1 overs)81
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-43, 3-49
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Graham4   2140--
Elms3   0210--
Underwood8   4201--

--> MH Denness (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 4
--> Asif Iqbal (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 18
--> JN Shepherd (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 8
--> JN Shepherd (2) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 14
--> GS Warner made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> GS Warner made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> W Blenkiron reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Kent first innings
--> RB Elms achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 3-92)
--> RB Elms achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Warwickshire first innings (previous best was 3-92)
--> NM McVicker reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 4th wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive