Warwickshire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1972
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 8th, 10th, 11th July 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWarwickshire won by 8 wickets
PointsWarwickshire 15 (Batting 1, Bowling 4); Glamorgan 8 (Batting 3, Bowling 5)
UmpiresAE Fagg, R Julian
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 67/5 (Davis 6*, Llewellyn 7*; 25.5 overs)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (1) 182/8 (AC Smith 21*, Gibbs 16*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Frederickslbw b AC Smith16     
A Jonesc Kanhai b AC Smith30     
Majid Khanc Willis b AC Smith0     
*AR Lewisb Willis1     
JW Solankyb AC Smith3     
RC Davisnot out77     
MJ Llewellync Willis b AC Smith30     
+EW Jonesc Gibbs b Tidy18     
MA Nashc Murray b McVicker36     
DJ Shepherdb Willis2     
DL Williamsnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)13
Total(9 wickets, declared, 71 overs)226
Fall of wickets:
1-49, 2-49, 3-50, 4-52, 5-58, 6-105, 7-150, 8-201, 9-220
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willis21   9442--
McVicker19   1621--
AC Smith15   1475--
Gibbs11   2280--
Tidy5   0321--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Whitehouseb Williams55     
DL Amissc Lewis b Nash10     
RB Kanhaic EW Jones b Shepherd24     
MJK Smithlbw b Nash12     
AI Kallicharranlbw b Williams13     
+DL Murrayc A Jones b Nash12     
NM McVickerc Majid Khan b Nash6     
*AC Smithnot out26     
RGD Willisc Lewis b Williams1     
LR Gibbsc and b Williams24     
WN Tidylbw b Williams0     
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 5 nb, 3 w)15
Total(all out, 65 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-80, 3-106, 4-108, 5-127, 6-134, 7-138, 8-141, 9-197, 10-198 (65 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash26   7804--
Williams21   8545--
Solanky4   1120--
Shepherd8   2231--
Majid Khan4   090--
Davis2   050--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RC Fredericksretired hurt11     
A Jonesc sub b Tidy16     
Majid Khanst Murray b Tidy113     
*AR Lewisc AC Smith b McVicker51     
JW Solankynot out23     
RC Davisnot out2     
MJ Llewellyndid not bat      
+EW Jonesdid not bat      
MA Nashdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
DL Williamsdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb)4
Total(3 wickets, declared, 42 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-76, 2-157, 3-215
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Willis12   3330--
McVicker12   0521--
AC Smith6   1440--
Tidy12   0872--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Whitehousec sub b Shepherd41     
DL Amissb Nash7     
RB Kanhainot out123     
MJK Smithnot out66     
AI Kallicharrandid not bat      
+DL Murraydid not bat      
NM McVickerdid not bat      
*AC Smithdid not bat      
RGD Willisdid not bat      
LR Gibbsdid not bat      
WN Tidydid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 8 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)13
Total(2 wickets, 48.5 overs)250
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-88
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash11   1591--
Shepherd10   1481--
Majid Khan6   0290--
Davis13   1490--

--> Day 3 Lunch: Glamorgan (2) ?/? (Majid Khan 110*, [unknown] ?*)
--> WN Tidy made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> MJ Llewellyn (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in County Championship matches
--> LR Gibbs (1) passed his previous highest score of 23 in County Championship matches
--> LR Gibbs (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> Majid Khan (2) 100 in 70 minutes
--> Majid Khan (2) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 113
--> AC Smith reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan first innings
--> AC Smith achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings (previous best was 4-36)
--> AC Smith achieved his first five wickets in an innings in County Championship matches in the Glamorgan first innings
--> RC Fredericks retired hurt in the Glamorgan second innings having scored 11 (team score 16/0)

Majid Khan's century was the fastest of the season and won him the Walter Lawrence Trophy.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive