Warwickshire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1973
VenueEdgbaston, Birmingham on 25th, 27th, 28th August 1973 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 149 runs
PointsWarwickshire 4 (Bowling 4); Northamptonshire 18 (Batting 3, Bowling 5)
UmpiresR Aspinall, WE Phillipson
ScorersJ Mercer (Northamptonshire), P Pike (Warwickshire)
Close of play day 1Warwickshire (1) 43/5 (Smith 12*, McVicker 4*)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (2) 2/2 (Brown 0*, Hemmings 0*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Smith b Brown28     
C Milburnb Brown12     
P Willeyc Jameson b Brown8     
Mushtaq Mohammadc McDowall b McVicker42     
DS Steelec Hemmings b McVicker33     
*PJ Wattsc Abberley b Jameson37     
G Cookretired hurt29     
+G Sharpb Jameson26     
RMH Cottamc Jameson b Rouse6     
JCJ Dyec Hemmings b Rouse2     
BS Bedinot out2     
Extras(9 lb, 8 nb)17
Total(all out, 84.3 overs)242
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-43, 3-54, 4-130, 5-135, 6-195, 7-238, 8-238, 9-242 (84.3 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown14   3293--
McVicker21   2522--
Hemmings17   6420--
Jameson9   1362--

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RN Abberleyc sub b Cottam0     
JA Jamesonc Watts b Cottam18     
J Whitehouselbw b Cottam0     
*MJK Smithc Virgin b Mushtaq Mohammad36     
EE Hemmingsc sub b Dye3     
BK Gardomc Sharp b Dye6     
NM McVickerc Cottam b Dye10     
+JI McDowallc and b Bedi9     
SJ Rousec Steele b Bedi21     
DJ Brownnot out4     
W Blenkironlbw b Bedi2     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 49.3 overs)110
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-21, 4-24, 5-32, 6-52, 7-72, 8-100, 9-104, 10-110 (49.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cottam14   4353--
Dye14   1463--
Mushtaq Mohammad8   4101--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
C Milburnb McVicker15     
RT Virginb McVicker13     
P Willeyb McVicker89     
Mushtaq Mohammadc McDowall b McVicker0     
DS Steelenot out47     
*PJ Wattsnot out5     
G Cookdid not bat      
+G Sharpdid not bat      
RMH Cottamdid not bat      
BS Bedidid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb)9
Total(4 wickets, declared, 59 overs)178
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-46, 3-46, 4-170
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown23   4670--
McVicker25   8564--
Hemmings8   2330--
Abberley3   0130--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+JI McDowallc Virgin b Dye1     
SJ Rousec Sharp b Cottam0     
DJ Brownc Watts b Dye0     
EE Hemmingsc Milburn b Cottam8     
JA Jamesonc Virgin b Bedi78     
*MJK Smithc Sharp b Bedi21     
RN Abberleyb Mushtaq Mohammad19     
J Whitehouselbw b Mushtaq Mohammad15     
BK Gardomc Willey b Bedi5     
NM McVickernot out9     
W Blenkironlbw b Bedi0     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 61.3 overs)161
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 4-50, 5-109, 6-112, 7-140, 8-147, 9-160, 10-161 (61.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cottam12   5382--
Dye11   6242--
Mushtaq Mohammad15   3432--

--> Mushtaq Mohammad (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 1
--> DS Steele (1) passed 11000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> G Cook (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> BK Gardom made his debut in County Championship matches
--> DJ Brown reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> BS Bedi reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Warwickshire first innings
--> JCJ Dye reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 3rd wicket in the Warwickshire first innings
--> NM McVicker reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings
--> G Cook retired hurt in the Northamptonshire first innings having scored 29 (team score 221/6)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive