Northamptonshire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1975
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 31st May, 2nd, 3rd June 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 10 wickets
PointsNorthamptonshire 17 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Glamorgan 2 (Bowling 2)
UmpiresR Aspinall, PB Wight
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 180/2 (Steele 79*, Mushtaq Mohammad 73*; 69 overs)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 96/4 (Majid Khan 56*, Francis 0*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Joneslbw b Cottam10      
AL Jonesc Dye b Cottam14      
GP Ellisc Bedi b Dye0      
*Majid Khanc Virgin b Cottam1      
DA Francisc Cottam b Sarfraz Nawaz8      
JW Solankyc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz4      
RC Davislbw b Sarfraz Nawaz14      
+EW Jonesc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz0      
MA Nashc Larkins b Cottam12      
EA Cordlenot out10      
GD Armstrongb Sarfraz Nawaz14      
Extras(1 nb, 1 w)2
Total(all out, 41.3 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-24, 3-24, 4-29, 5-35, 6-48, 7-48, 8-63, 9-63, 10-89 (41.3 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cottam19   8324--
Dye11   4181--
Sarfraz Nawaz11.32375--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RT Virginc EW Jones b Nash11      
W Larkinslbw b Armstrong2      
DS Steelenot out126      
Mushtaq Mohammadc Francis b Ellis92      
G Cookc Francis b Cordle0      
A Taitc sub b Cordle6      
+G Sharplbw b Cordle18      
Sarfraz Nawazc Davis b Nash0      
RMH Cottamlbw b Nash0      
BS Bedic and b Cordle25      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 9 nb)17
Total(9 wickets, declared, 114.3 overs)297
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-28, 3-204, 4-207, 5-213, 6-257, 7-264, 8-264, 9-297 (114.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Armstrong13   1211--
Nash29   7803--
Solanky13   4330--
Davis10   3370--
Ellis17   7441--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesb Dye22      
AL Jonesc Sharp b Dye8      
RC Davislbw b Dye1      
*Majid Khanb Bedi114      
GP Ellisc Steele b Sarfraz Nawaz9      
DA Francisc Cottam b Bedi22      
JW Solankyc Virgin b Bedi5      
MA Nashc Mushtaq Mohammad b Bedi12      
+EW Jonesc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz0      
EA Cordlec Cook b Bedi18      
GD Armstrongnot out0      
Extras(1 nb)1
Total(all out, 64.5 overs)212
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-22, 3-35, 4-96, 5-156, 6-178, 7-189, 8-194, 9-202, 10-212 (64.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cottam22   4720--
Dye14   4433--
Sarfraz Nawaz14   4392--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Sarfraz Nawaznot out5      
+G Sharpnot out0      
*RT Virgindid not bat      
W Larkinsdid not bat      
DS Steeledid not bat      
Mushtaq Mohammaddid not bat      
G Cookdid not bat      
A Taitdid not bat      
RMH Cottamdid not bat      
BS Bedidid not bat      
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 0.3 overs)5
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
EW Jones0.3050--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> RC Davis (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> Majid Khan (2) passed 19500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 107
--> GD Armstrong was banned from bowling in the Northamptonshire first innings (for running on the pitch)
--> JCJ Dye reached 550 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive