Surrey v Leicestershire
County Championship 1975
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 5th, 7th, 8th July 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 1 wicket
PointsSurrey 17 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 4 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresWL Budd, AEG Rhodes
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 3/0 (Dudleston 1*, Steele 2*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 185/3 (Balderstone 35*, Illingworth 6*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*JH Edrichc Balderstone b McKenzie1     
AR Butcherb McVicker33     
GP Howarthc Steele b McVicker37     
Younis Ahmedb McKenzie4     
GRJ Roopec and b Booth13     
DR Owen-Thomaslbw b Higgs33     
+LE Skinnerc Tolchard b McVicker24     
Intikhab Alamb Higgs54     
RD Jackmannot out42     
GG Arnoldb McVicker11     
PI Pocockc Davison b McVicker0     
Extras(1 lb, 6 nb)7
Total(all out, 99.5 overs)259
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-67, 3-74, 4-88, 5-102, 6-145, 7-167, 8-233, 9-259, 10-259 (99.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie19   6342--
Higgs24   6672--
Booth20   3761--
Steele8   3190--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Skinner b Arnold22     
JF Steelelbw b Arnold2     
JC Balderstoneb Arnold0     
BF Davisonb Pocock30     
*R Illingworthb Arnold0     
+RW Tolchardb Arnold0     
J Birkenshawb Pocock2     
P Boothc Edrich b Jackman0     
NM McVickerc Skinner b Intikhab Alam3     
GD McKenziec Jackman b Pocock0     
K Higgsnot out2     
Extras(7 lb)7
Total(all out, 40.4 overs)68
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-11, 3-40, 4-40, 5-40, 6-45, 7-50, 8-66, 9-66, 10-68 (40.4 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold13   6175--
Jackman11   2321--
Intikhab Alam4.4231--
Pocock12   793--

Leicestershire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Skinner b Intikhab Alam44     
JF Steelec Roope b Pocock71     
JC Balderstonest Skinner b Intikhab Alam49     
BF Davisonc Roope b Butcher20     
*R Illingworthnot out41     
+RW Tolchardc Jackman b Arnold12     
J Birkenshawc Skinner b Jackman11     
P Boothb Jackman0     
NM McVickerc Skinner b Jackman5     
GD McKenzieb Intikhab Alam18     
K Higgsc Edrich b Pocock2     
Extras(3 b, 7 lb)10
Total(all out, 127.5 overs)283
Fall of wickets:
1-85, 2-140, 3-173, 4-208, 5-226, 6-245, 7-245, 8-253, 9-276, 10-283 (127.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Arnold22   3631--
Jackman15   5283--
Intikhab Alam29   9763--
Butcher21   9361--
Roope2   0110--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Illingworth b McKenzie0     
*JH Edrichb McVicker14     
GP Howarthc Tolchard b McKenzie0     
Younis Ahmedc Birkenshaw b McKenzie9     
GRJ Roopelbw b Higgs1     
DR Owen-Thomasb Illingworth14     
+LE Skinnerb Illingworth6     
Intikhab Alamnot out20     
RD Jackmanc Davison b Illingworth0     
GG Arnoldb Illingworth8     
PI Pococknot out10     
Extras(9 lb, 2 nb)11
Total(9 wickets, 43.3 overs)93
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-13, 4-27, 5-29, 6-48, 7-51, 8-51, 9-65
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie9   5163--
Higgs17   5291--
McVicker6   1161--
Balderstone2   110--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> GP Howarth (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 35
--> B Dudleston (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 11
--> JC Balderstone (2) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 40
--> R Illingworth (2) passed 22000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> J Birkenshaw (2) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 10
--> RD Jackman reached 550 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> R Illingworth completed a hat-trick in the Surrey second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive