Warwickshire v Leicestershire
County Championship 1975
VenueCourtaulds Ground, Coventry on 23rd, 24th, 25th July 1975 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWarwickshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 1 wicket
PointsWarwickshire 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Leicestershire 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresR Aspinall, RE Barnard
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 35/3 (Davison 8*, Illingworth 5*; 14 overs)
Close of play day 2Warwickshire (2) 120/2 (Amiss 40*, Smith 28*)

Warwickshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DL Amissc Higgs b McVicker6     
JA Jamesonb McKenzie36     
AI Kallicharranc Tolchard b McVicker0     
MJK Smithc Tolchard b McVicker11     
RB Kanhainot out178     
+DL Murraylbw b Higgs5     
WA Bournec Dudleston b Higgs19     
EE Hemmingsc Balderstone b Steele18     
*DJ Brownc Dudleston b Higgs32     
PJ Lewingtonc Birkenshaw b Higgs0     
SP Perrymannot out4     
Extras(2 b, 9 lb, 14 nb)25
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)334
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-33, 3-53, 4-111, 5-114, 6-129, 7-257, 8-327, 9-329
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie11   1501--
Higgs27   5724--
McVicker31   31013--
Cross11   3240--
Birkenshaw8   0250--
Steele12   3371--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Kallicharran b Brown1     
JF Steeleb Brown9     
JC Balderstonelbw b Bourne5     
BF Davisonb Perryman68     
*R Illingworthc Murray b Perryman8     
+RW Tolchardc Smith b Hemmings14     
J Birkenshawc Murray b Brown37     
GF Crossc Hemmings b Brown39     
NM McVickernot out24     
GD McKenzieb Brown0     
K Higgsb Perryman2     
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 57 overs)216
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-22, 3-26, 4-52, 5-110, 6-116, 7-190, 8-203, 9-203, 10-216 (57 ov)
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown21   2815--
Bourne5   1111--
Perryman16   1603--
Hemmings9   3271--
Lewington6   1280--

Warwickshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Jamesonc Tolchard b McVicker13     
DL Amissc Birkenshaw b Illingworth57     
AI Kallicharranc Davison b McVicker27     
MJK Smithc Balderstone b Birkenshaw41     
+DL Murrayrun out3     
EE Hemmingsnot out35     
*DJ Brownc Tolchard b Birkenshaw1     
PJ Lewingtonc Tolchard b Illingworth1     
SP Perrymannot out2     
RB Kanhaidid not bat      
WA Bournedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 7 nb, 2 w)12
Total(7 wickets, declared, 65 overs)192
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-65, 3-145, 4-153, 5-153, 6-156, 7-173
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKenzie8   0200--
Higgs18   3280--
McVicker16   3392--
Birkenshaw13   1482--
Steele2   050--
Illingworth8   1402--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Dudlestonc Brown b Perryman28     
JF Steelec Murray b Perryman1     
JC Balderstonec Kallicharran b Hemmings24     
BF Davisonc Kallicharran b Perryman77     
*R Illingworthc Murray b Lewington12     
+RW Tolchardnot out103     
J Birkenshawc Kallicharran b Brown4     
GF Crossc Amiss b Lewington15     
NM McVickerc Brown b Lewington35     
GD McKenzieb Lewington0     
K Higgsnot out6     
Extras(2 b, 5 lb, 1 w)8
Total(9 wickets, 102.2 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-46, 3-76, 4-107, 5-187, 6-201, 7-226, 8-276, 9-276
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Perryman18   3513--
Hemmings31   6921--
Lewington36   91124--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> RB Kanhai (1) passed 27000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 57
--> AI Kallicharran (2) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> BF Davison (2) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 50
--> RW Tolchard (2) passed 8000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> K Higgs reached 1100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Warwickshire first innings
--> R Illingworth reached 1900 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Warwickshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive