Border v Northern Transvaal
Castle Currie Cup 1976/77 (Section B)
VenueJan Smuts Ground, East London on 27th, 28th, 29th December 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
PointsBorder 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2); Northern Transvaal 7 (Batting 2, Bowling 5)
UmpiresOR Schoof, TW Townsend
Close of play day 1
Close of play day 2

Border first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GW Nelsonb Davies20      
ID Hartyb Koster0      
+DC McKennac Koster b Davies30      
I Foulkesc Quirk b Koster15      
ET Laughlinc Koster b Inchmore18      
SJ Schmidtb Davies5      
RBC Rangerc van der Merwe b Raath54      
JD Ogilviec Quirk b Inchmore2      
GM Gowerst Quirk b van der Merwe27      
MR Ballantynenot out35      
CC Jarvisc Quirk b van der Merwe3      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 4 nb)16
Total(all out, 80.5 overs)225
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-54, 3-54, 4-74, 5-95, 6-95, 7-101, 8-172, 9-201, 10-225 (80.5 ov)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Inchmore25   9462--
Koster13   1492--
Davies19   5533--
van der Merwe11.53342--
Jordaan6   1200--
Raath6   271--

Northern Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FJ le Rouxlbw b Laughlin55      
P Tudgelbw b Laughlin38      
*AH Jordaanb Ranger80      
+T Quirkc Ballantyne b Laughlin7      
K Burrowc Foulkes b Laughlin10      
M Durbachc Laughlin b Ballantyne50      
HW Raathb Laughlin42      
DJ van der Merwec McKenna b Ballantyne1      
L Kosterc Ballantyne b Laughlin22      
JD Inchmorec Foulkes b Laughlin0      
MG Daviesnot out2      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb)6
Total(all out, 123.3 overs)313
Fall of wickets:
1-86, 2-107, 3-126, 4-140, 5-221, 6-261, 7-266, 8-295, 9-305, 10-313 (123.3 ov)
Border bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ballantyne15   2522--
Ogilvie17   4480--
Gower16   6320--
Jarvis34   14610--
Ranger10   4281--

Border second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GW Nelsonb Raath79      
ID Hartyc Quirk b van der Merwe55      
+DC McKennarun out49      
I Foulkesc Raath b van der Merwe27      
ET Laughlinc Burrow b Raath4      
SJ Schmidtnot out44      
RBC Rangerc Davies b Raath9      
JD Ogilviec Durbach b Raath5      
GM Gowerc Jordaan b Inchmore20      
MR Ballantynenot out28      
CC Jarvisdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 7 nb)19
Total(8 wickets, declared, 110 overs)339
Fall of wickets:
1-112, 2-193, 3-194, 4-198, 5-223, 6-245, 7-261, 8-284
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Inchmore26   5681--
Koster10   1250--
Davies13   4400--
van der Merwe27   71012--
Raath34   9864--

Northern Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FJ le Rouxb Gower43      
P Tudgec Schmidt b Gower18      
*AH Jordaanc McKenna b Gower19      
+T Quirknot out8      
K Burrowc Jarvis b Foulkes38      
M Durbachrun out17      
HW Raathb Laughlin8      
DJ van der Merwenot out31      
L Kosterdid not bat      
JD Inchmoredid not bat      
MG Daviesdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(6 wickets, 49 overs)190
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-70, 3-85, 4-122, 5-132, 6-172
Border bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ballantyne2   0180--
Ogilvie8   1380--
Gower15   2393--
Jarvis13   2440--
Laughlin4   0251--
Schmidt3   060--
Foulkes4   1121--

--> RBC Ranger (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in first-class matches
--> JD Ogilvie made his debut in first-class matches
--> MR Ballantyne (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in first-class matches
--> AH Jordaan (1) passed his previous highest score of 78 in first-class matches
--> M Durbach (2) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> ET Laughlin made his debut for Border in first-class matches
--> MG Davies achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Border first innings (previous best was 1-37)
--> ET Laughlin achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Northern Transvaal first innings (previous best was 0-2)
--> ET Laughlin achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Northern Transvaal first innings
--> GM Gower achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Northern Transvaal second innings (previous best was 3-60)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive