Worcestershire v Sussex
John Player League 1977
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 1st May 1977 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to field
ResultSussex won on faster scoring rate (Run rate)
PointsWorcestershire 0; Sussex 4
UmpiresR Julian, PB Wight

Worcestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
GM Turnerc Greig b Knight22      
JA Ormrodlbw b Spencer0      
BL D'Oliveiralbw b Spencer0      
EJO Hemsleyc Long b Knight19      
DN Patelb Greig16      
+DJ Humphriesrun out5      
CN Boynsb Waller2      
JD Inchmorec Buss b Greig16      
*N Giffordnot out22      
VA Holderb Spencer6      
J Cumbesnot out4      
Extras(9 lb, 4 w)13
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 40 overs)125
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-8, 3-42, 4-45, 5-70, 6-70, 7-76, 8-105, 9-115
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Buss8   1210--   -2.62
Spencer8   3223--   16.002.75
Knight8   2242--   24.003.00
Waller8   0191--   48.002.38
Greig8   0262--   24.003.25

Sussex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
JRT Barclayb Inchmore2      
KC Wesselsc and b D'Oliveira56      
RDV Knightlbw b Holder4      
Javed Miandadlbw b Holder1      
*AW Greigc Humphries b Inchmore5      
PJ Gravesc Patel b Cumbes15      
PWG Parkerlbw b Cumbes1      
MA Bussb Gifford10      
+A Longnot out6      
J Spencernot out0      
CE Wallerdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 6 w)14
Total(8 wickets, 36 overs)114
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-21, 3-23, 4-31, 5-69, 6-71, 7-104, 8-114
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Holder8   3122--   24.001.50
Inchmore8   2132--   24.001.62
Cumbes8   0322--   24.004.00
Boyns3   0140--   -4.67
D'Oliveira7   0231--   42.003.29
Gifford2   061--   12.003.00

--> When play was halted Sussex needed to have scored 113 runs to win
--> RDV Knight reached 150 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire innings
--> VA Holder reached 200 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Sussex innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive