Victoria v Indians
India in Australia 1977/78
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th November 1977 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndians won by 6 wickets
UmpiresRC Bailhache, KJ Carmody
ScorersBW Bright (Victoria), MP Ringham (Indians)
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 246/8 (Callen 3*, Hurst 5*)
Close of play day 2Indians (1) 242/5 (Chauhan 91*, Madan Lal 38*)
Close of play day 3Victoria (2) 143/5 (Whatmore 39*, Laughlin 18*)

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PA Hibbertc Madan Lal b Prasanna100 328-- 
JM Wienerc Reddy b M Amarnath5     
*GN Yallopb Chandrasekhar61     
DF Whatmorerun out8     
JK Mossc M Amarnath b Prasanna0     
P Melvilleb Venkataraghavan31     
TJ Laughlinc Reddy b Chandrasekhar23     
+IL Maddocksc M Amarnath b Venkataraghavan7     
IW Callennot out3     
AG Hurstnot out5     
JD Higgsdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb)3
Total(8 wickets, declared, 83 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-109, 3-124, 4-125, 5-176, 6-211, 7-233, 8-238
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Madan Lal6   1100--
M Amarnath8   2151--
Prasanna23   3572--
Venkataraghavan22   0652--
Chandrasekhar24   1962--

Indians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DB Vengsarkarc and b Higgs54     
CPS Chauhanc Melville b Laughlin157 5162- 
S Amarnathc Whatmore b Higgs13     
BP Patelc Melville b Higgs26     
SM Gavaskarst Maddocks b Higgs0     
M Amarnathst Maddocks b Higgs8     
Madan Lalrun out88 242   
+B Reddylbw b Laughlin0     
*S Venkataraghavanst Maddocks b Higgs11     
EAS Prasannanot out15     
BS Chandrasekhardid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 6 lb, 6 nb)15
Total(9 wickets, declared, 113.6 overs)387
Fall of wickets:
1-87, 2-110, 3-157, 4-157, 5-165, 6-351, 7-351, 8-367, 9-367
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hurst17   2500--
Callen18   2580--
Higgs38   41316--
Wiener29   8900--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PA Hibbertc Reddy b Venkataraghavan28     
JM Wienerb Venkataraghavan27     
*GN Yallopb Chandrasekhar9     
DF Whatmoreb Venkataraghavan45     
JK Mossst Reddy b Prasanna13     
P Melvillelbw b Prasanna7     
TJ Laughlinnot out88     
+IL Maddocksc and b Chandrasekhar17     
IW Callenc Patel b Venkataraghavan17     
AG Hurstc M Amarnath b Prasanna3     
JD Higgsc Reddy b Prasanna0     
Extras(13 b, 3 lb)16
Total(all out, 86 overs)270
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-62, 3-68, 4-88, 5-114, 6-155, 7-202, 8-241, 9-258, 10-270 (86 ov)
Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Madan Lal3   0190--
M Amarnath2   020--
Prasanna26   4744--
Venkataraghavan29   4934--
Chandrasekhar25   5662--
Chauhan1   100--

Indians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DB Vengsarkarlbw b Hurst14     
CPS Chauhanc Whatmore b Laughlin47     
S Amarnathc Melville b Hurst7     
BP Patelrun out21     
M Amarnathnot out33     
Madan Lalnot out6     
SM Gavaskardid not bat      
+B Reddydid not bat      
*S Venkataraghavandid not bat      
EAS Prasannadid not bat      
BS Chandrasekhardid not bat      
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(4 wickets, 33.2 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-34, 3-70, 4-121
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hurst12   1362--
Callen5   0210--
Higgs10   2400--
Wiener5   0260--

--> PA Hibbert (1) passed his previous highest score of 77 in first-class matches
--> PA Hibbert (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> GN Yallop (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 39
--> DB Vengsarkar (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 11
--> CPS Chauhan (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 90
--> S Venkataraghavan made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> CPS Chauhan made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> Madan Lal made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> BP Patel made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> B Reddy made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> JD Higgs reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Indians first innings

12th Men: JR Douglas (Victoria), KD Ghavri (Indians)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive