Surrey v Essex
Benson and Hedges Cup 1979 (Group C)
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 12th May 1979 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 7 runs
PointsSurrey 3; Essex 0
UmpiresWL Budd, DJ Dennis
Man of the MatchKWR Fletcher

Surrey inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
AR Butcherc Smith b Turner134145--31.71
GS Clintonc Gooch b Acfield1886942-20.93
GP Howarthb Lever751011515-74.26
*RDV Knightc Acfield b Lever5270776-74.29
DM Smithb Lever468--66.67
GRJ Roopenot out262029-2130.00
RD Jackmanb Lever133--33.33
ST Clarkenot out248--50.00
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
PHL Wilsondid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 14 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-22 (Butcher), 2-55 (Clinton), 3-160 (Knight), 4-168 (Smith), 5-185 (Howarth), 6-187 (Jackman)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Lever11   1294--16.502.64
Phillip11   1490---4.45
Turner11   3401-166.003.64
Pont11   2390---3.55
Acfield11   3341--66.003.09

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
GA Goochc Roope b Jackman285--25.00
AW Lilleyb Clarke3361955-54.10
KS McEwanb Wilson637401-16.22
*KWR Fletcherb Jackman721331564-54.14
BR Hardieb Clarke023--0.00
KR Pontb Wilson3256843-57.14
S Turnerb Wilson011--0.00
N Phillipc Clinton b Clarke1411212-127.27
+N Smithc Wilson b Clarke101527--66.67
JK Leverb Jackman91216--75.00
DL Acfieldnot out112--100.00
Extras(1 b, 11 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 54.4 overs)200
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Gooch), 2-19 (McEwan), 3-66 (Lilley), 4-66 (Hardie), 5-156 (Pont), 6-156 (Turner), 7-170 (Fletcher), 8-180 (Phillip), 9-198 (Lever), 10-200 (Smith, 54.4 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Jackman11   1373--22.003.36
Wilson11   0383-522.003.45
Smith11   147014-4.27
Pocock11   2340---3.09

--> ST Clarke achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ListA matches when he dismissed N Phillip in the Essex innings (previous best was 2-24)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive