Transvaal B v Orange Free State
Castle Bowl 1979/80
VenueNew Wanderers No 1 Oval, Johannesburg on 2nd, 3rd, 5th November 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOrange Free State won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTransvaal B won by 3 wickets
PointsTransvaal B 17 (Batting 2, Bowling 5); Orange Free State 5 (Bowling 5)
UmpiresJW Peacock, RL van Wezel
Close of play day 1Transvaal B (1) 106/1 (Venter 50*, du Preez ?*)
Close of play day 2Orange Free State (2) 136/4 (RA le Roux 69*, Bristow ?*)

Orange Free State first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DP le Rouxc Drake b Minnaar1     
*RA le Rouxlbw b Minnaar6     
TA Lloydnot out79     
+RJ Eastc and b McMillan12     
KL Bristowc Day b Minnaar3     
LH Coetzeelbw b McMillan9     
E Schmidtc Adair b Barlow17     
PJ Hackerc Day b McMillan4     
WM van der Merweb Minnaar5     
GL Ackermannrun out29     
RG Nortonb Minnaar4     
Extras(3 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 78.2 overs)173
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-7, 3-28, 4-37, 5-60, 6-77, 7-85, 8-94, 9-165, 10-173 (78.2 ov)
Transvaal B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson7   1160--
McMillan22   5463--
Barlow6   1251--
Skjoldhammer8   3130--
du Preez7   380--

Transvaal B first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RF Pienaarb Norton35     
MS Venterb Ackermann53     
VF du Preezc Bristow b Hacker18     
*+NT Dayc East b Ackermann0     
AH Drakerun out26     
RW Adairc Bristow b Ackermann0     
GE McMillanc RA le Roux b Schmidt15     
N Minnaarc DP le Roux b RA le Roux12     
KA Barlowc Schmidt b Ackermann11     
KP Skjoldhammernot out16     
DS Thompsonb Coetzee21     
Extras(10 lb, 4 nb)14
Total(all out, 83.2 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-75, 2-115, 3-115, 4-115, 5-125, 6-139, 7-164, 8-176, 9-183, 10-221 (83.2 ov)
Orange Free State bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ackermann21   7484--
van der Merwe6   3170--
Hacker17   4311--
Schmidt12   3301--
Norton11   2431--
RA le Roux14   2361--

Orange Free State second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DP le Rouxc Minnaar b Barlow33     
*RA le Rouxb Thompson69     
TA Lloydrun out18     
PJ Hackerlbw b Skjoldhammer0     
+RJ Eastlbw b Adair8     
KL Bristowlbw b Pienaar5     
LH Coetzeec McMillan b Skjoldhammer14     
E Schmidtc Day b McMillan6     
WM van der Merwec Day b McMillan5     
GL Ackermannc Day b McMillan2     
RG Nortonnot out2     
Extras(4 b, 8 lb)12
Total(all out, 92.3 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-72, 2-119, 3-119, 4-135, 5-135, 6-155, 7-155, 8-168, 9-169, 10-174 (92.3 ov)
Transvaal B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thompson10   3221--
Barlow13   7161--
Skjoldhammer23   7332--
du Preez4   0130--
Pienaar16   1271--
Adair5   1121--

Transvaal B second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RF Pienaarc East b Hacker3     
MS Venterlbw b Ackermann0     
VF du Preezc Bristow b Ackermann6     
*+NT Dayc Bristow b Ackermann11     
AH Drakenot out41     
KP Skjoldhammerlbw b RA le Roux2     
RW Adairb RA le Roux0     
GE McMillanc East b Ackermann35     
N Minnaarnot out4     
KA Barlowdid not bat      
DS Thompsondid not bat      
Extras(9 b, 11 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)25
Total(7 wickets, 43.2 overs)127
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-7, 3-22, 4-34, 5-45, 6-49, 7-111
Orange Free State bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ackermann16   4274--
Hacker14   2421--
Schmidt6   3180--
RA le Roux6   3132--

--> TA Lloyd (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 79
--> KL Bristow made his debut in first-class matches
--> MS Venter made his debut in first-class matches
--> AH Drake made his debut in first-class matches
--> KP Skjoldhammer made his debut in first-class matches
--> DS Thompson made his debut in first-class matches
--> GE McMillan (2) passed his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> N Minnaar achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Orange Free State first innings (previous best was 3-10)
--> GL Ackermann achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal B first innings (previous best was 2-11)
--> GL Ackermann achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal B second innings (previous best was 4-48)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive