Transvaal B v Eastern Province B
Castle Bowl 1979/80
VenueNew Wanderers No 1 Oval, Johannesburg on 17th, 19th, 20th November 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossTransvaal B won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTransvaal B won by 145 runs
PointsTransvaal B 22 (Batting 8, Bowling 4); Eastern Province B 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWO Maasch, JW Peacock
Close of play day 1Eastern Province B (1) 52/0 (Furstenburg ?*, Armitage ?*)
Close of play day 2Transvaal B (2) 137/7 (Barnard 47*, Plint 25*)

Transvaal B first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NE Wrightc Karg b van Vuuren0     
RF Pienaarc Cowley b Armitage58     
VF du Preezlbw b Elliott27     
LJ Barnardc Karg b Foulkes37     
*+NT Dayc Whyte b Foulkes1     
AH Drakeb Foulkes3     
GE McMillanc Karg b Elliott91     
N Minnaarc Furstenburg b Alers78     
AJ Plintrun out39     
KP Skjoldhammernot out9     
M van Wykdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 19 lb, 5 nb)26
Total(9 wickets, declared, 88.4 overs)369
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-67, 3-121, 4-132, 5-135, 6-142, 7-273, 8-341, 9-369 (88.4 ov)
Eastern Province B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
van Vuuren13   4461--
Alers15   3661--
Elliott17   3612--
Foulkes20   8603--
Armitage12   3571--

Eastern Province B first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JW Furstenburgc Day b McMillan57     
RLS Armitagec Day b McMillan33     
KW Gradwellc Minnaar b Pienaar30     
I Foulkesc and b van Wyk26     
RJD Whytelbw b Pienaar7     
*GS Cowleyc McMillan b Minnaar7     
DG Emsliec Day b van Wyk10     
+TG Kargc Barnard b van Wyk19     
D Elliottlbw b McMillan2     
MK van Vuurenb McMillan8     
DGW Alersnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 4 w)11
Total(all out, 87.2 overs)210
Fall of wickets:
1-89, 2-98, 3-130, 4-138, 5-151, 6-172, 7-179, 8-182, 9-206, 10-210 (87.2 ov)
Transvaal B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Minnaar24   9381--
McMillan23   4494--
van Wyk23.26703--
Skjoldhammer3   160--
Plint6   4120--
Wright1   060--
Pienaar7   3182--

Transvaal B second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NE Wrightc Emslie b Alers4     
RF Pienaarlbw b van Vuuren3     
VF du Preezc Karg b van Vuuren29     
LJ Barnardnot out51     
*+NT Dayb van Vuuren5     
AH Drakec Karg b Cowley1     
GE McMillanc Furstenburg b Armitage4     
N Minnaarlbw b Cowley0     
AJ Plintlbw b Cowley25     
KP Skjoldhammernot out11     
M van Wykdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 21 lb, 3 nb)26
Total(8 wickets, declared, 46 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-7, 3-54, 4-66, 5-87, 6-98, 7-99, 8-137
Eastern Province B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
van Vuuren15   3243--
Alers5   0271--
Cowley15   4443--
Elliott4   0150--
Armitage7   3231--

Eastern Province B second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JW Furstenburgb McMillan2     
RLS Armitagec Plint b Minnaar1     
KW Gradwellc van Wyk b Minnaar1     
I Foulkeslbw b van Wyk11     
RJD Whytec Pienaar b Skjoldhammer41     
*GS Cowleyc Minnaar b Barnard37     
DG Emsliec Day b McMillan1     
+TG Kargb Barnard4     
D Elliottnot out36     
MK van Vuurenc and b Skjoldhammer0     
DGW Alersb Pienaar35     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb)4
Total(all out, 57.5 overs)173
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-3, 3-5, 4-21, 5-74, 6-75, 7-90, 8-102, 9-102, 10-173 (57.5 ov)
Transvaal B bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Minnaar12   4202--
McMillan11   2372--
van Wyk8   3241--
Skjoldhammer9   4172--
Wright2   0220--
Barnard9   1282--
du Preez2   060--

--> RF Pienaar (1) passed his previous highest score of 57 in first-class matches
--> GE McMillan (1) passed his previous highest score of 35 in first-class matches
--> N Minnaar (1) passed his previous highest score of 41 in first-class matches
--> AJ Plint made his debut in first-class matches
--> JW Furstenburg made his debut in first-class matches
--> DG Emslie made his debut in first-class matches
--> DGW Alers (2) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> GS Cowley achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Transvaal B second innings (previous best was 3-48)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive